Ruan Pienaar in his 50th cap for the Toyota Cheetahs

Jun 2 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 332 Views • No Comments on Ruan Pienaar in his 50th cap for the Toyota Cheetahs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Toyota Cheetah supporters have a lot to look forward to on Friday, 3 June when the Toyota Cheetahs take on the Airlink Pumas in a Carling Currie Cup match in Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein.

Tickets for the match are only R20. Gates open at 15:00 and at 15:50 the under 11 team from Trio in Kroonstad will be facing their counterparts from Tjokkies (Universitas Primary) in a curtain-raiser.

Match tickets are available at the ticket office or online at Supporters have to show a vaccination certificate or a negative Covid test to enter the stadium. Visit www.cheetahs.rugbyfor more details.

Fans are invited to participate in a car boot sale or tuck into food from the food trucks behind the main stand and enjoy some refreshments at the Castle Deck.

Reservations for the car-boot sale (which is free) can be made with Chantall at 051 407 1701 or

On Friday, Ruan Pienaar will be running onto the field in his 50th match for the Toyota Cheetahs.

Ruan played for the following team during his career: SA Schools (2002); SA o.19 (2003); SA o.21 (2004-’05: 10); Cheetahs (2004; 2019-’22: 49 matches; 32 captain); KZN (2005-’10: 100); SA XV (2006: 1); SA (2006-’15: TESTS: 88; OTHER – 2006-’07; 2009: 5); Springboks (2014-’15: 2); Barbarians (2011; 2015: 3); Ulster, Ireland (2010-’17: 141); Montpellier, France (2017-’19: 28); ALL FIRST RANK (31/5/2022): 437 matches/2 066 points.

Coach Hawies Fourie announced his team:

Toyota Cheetahs

  1. Cohen Jasper
  2. Daniel Kasende
  3. Robert Ebersohn
  4. Chris Smit
  5. Rosko Specman
  6. Reinhardt Fortuin
  7. Ruan Pienaar (C)
  8. Jeandre Rudolph
  9. Aidon Davis
  10. Gideon van der Merwe
  11. Victor Sekekete
  12. Rynier Bernardo
  13. Aranos Coetzee
  14. Louis van der Westhuizen
  15. Schalk Ferreira


  1. Marnus van der Merwe
  2. Alulutho Tshakweni
  3. Marne Coetzee
  4. Ockie Barnard
  5. Andisa Ntsila
  6. Mihlali Mosi
  7. Rewan Kruger
  8. David Brits

The referee for the match is AJ Jacobs. He will be assisted by Dylen November and Clearance Khumalo. The TMO is Quinton Immelman.

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury: Branden de Kock (knee), Malcolm Jaer (ankle), Craig Barry (knee), Zinedine Booysen (ankle), Evardi Boshoff (groin), Duncan Saal (hamstring), Wilmar Arnoldi (hamstring), Siya Masuku (cold) and Frans Steyn (hamstring).

Related Posts