Rustenburg ideal preparation for Springbok Sevens

Sep 24 • International, World Rugby • 991 Views • No Comments on Rustenburg ideal preparation for Springbok Sevens

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Paul TreuThe Platinum International Sevens tournament in Rustenburg will provide the Springbok Sevens with the ideal training opportunity for the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India.

The action at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenburg gets underway just before noon on Saturday and the finals are scheduled for late Sunday afternoon. Apart from South Africa, the other international teams competing in Rustenburg are Namibia, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana.
The South African squad had a good workout during the Middelburg tournament last weekend and they now have a final chance to shape their game plan before flying out to India next week.

Unfortunately for South Africa, stalwart Kyle Brown and the promising Branco du Preez have been ruled out of playing any part in either Rustenburg or the Commonwealth Games. Treu has already called up Marius Schoeman and Paul Delport as replacements and the duo will also travel to the Commonwealth Games after Treu’s confirmation of their names to Sascoc.

According to the Springbok Sevens coach, his team will be looking to improve on their technical approach in Rustenburg: “We gave some encouraging steps last week in Middelburg but we now need to improve on our tactical approach and our overall game structure.

“I am delighted that we will have a degree of strong competition because I want to gauge the readiness of the squad and it will also give us an opportunity to look more closely at the newcomers,” said Treu.

Tomorrow, the Springbok Sevens are first up against a strong Golden Lions team at 12h56. Their other matches are against Botswana (16h54) and they end the day against a strong @tlantic invitational team in the feature game at 20h24.

The Springbok Sevens squad to the Commonwealth Games:

Marius Schoeman, Boom Prinsloo, Chris Dry, Chase Minnaar, Lubabalo Mtembu, Cecil Africa, Renfred Dazel, Paul Delport, Ryno Benjamin, Sibusiso Sithole, Bernardo Botha, MJ Mentz.
Issued by SARU Communications

Related Posts