SA Fish Industries tournament celebrates 30th anniversary

Oct 25 • General News, National • 1414 Views • No Comments on SA Fish Industries tournament celebrates 30th anniversary

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The SA Fish Industries tournament will celebrate 30 years of creating opportunities for rugby players in the fishing industry to make their mark when the two-day rugby festival kicks off at the Smit Sports Grounds in Velddrif on the West Coast on Friday. 

The annual tournament, which features 16 teams from the surrounding fish factories, was the brainchild of the late Dr Danie Craven, former Springbok centre Ian Kirkpatrick and former Proteas skipper Dougie Dyers, and was first held in Saldanha in 1987. The objective of the tournament offered players working in the fishing industry an opportunity to participate in sport and to wear the colours of their employers. 

The competition will feature four pools of four teams, who will each play two round-robin matches of 30 minutes on Friday and one on Saturday before the top teams go head-to-head in the knock-out stages.  The top two teams will battle it out in the Final.  

West Point, from St Helena Bay, won the title last season after defeating Sea Vuna – who will not feature in this year’s tournament – by 15-0 in the Final, while Sea Harvest and Elandsbaai B will enter the competition as other teams to watch after advancing to the semi-finals last year. 

Abdive and I&J will meet in the opening match on Friday at 10h00, while Spot-on-Deals will take on Coastal Links in the final match of the opening day on 20h00.


Day one fixtures (Friday, 27 October):

10h00 – Abdive v I&J

10h40 – Elandsbaai B v West Point

11h20 – Elandsbaai v Sea Vuna

12h00 – Sea Harvest v Coastal Links

12h40 – Com Ab Processors v West Point Fishing

13h20 – Lucky Star v Amawandle

14h00 – Adelaide Fisheries v Doringbaai

14h40 – Lucky Star Fleet v Spot-on-Deals

15h20 – Abdive v West Point Fishing

16h00 – Elandsbaai B v Amawandle

16h40 – Elandsbaai v Doringbaai

17h20 – Sea Harvest v Spot-on-Deals

18h00 – Com Ab Processors v I&J

18h40 – Lucky Star v West Point

19h20 – Adelaide Fisheries v Sea Vuna

20h00 – Lucky Star Fleet v Coastal Links


Day two pool fixtures (Saturday, 28 October):

08h30 – Com Ab Processors v Abdive

09h05 – Elandsbaai B v Lucky Star

09h40 – Elandsbaai v Adelaide Fisheries

10h15 – Sea Harvest v Lucky Star Fleet

10h50 – West Point Fishing v I&J              

11h25 – Amawandle v West Point

12h00 – Doringbaai v Sea Vuna

12h35 – Spot-on-Deals v Coastal Links


Related Posts