SA Schools trials squad named

Jul 14 • SA Schools Team, School • 3501 Views • 3 Comments on SA Schools trials squad named

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Blue Bulls had the majority of their squad called up for the SA Schools trials later this month, which was announced at the conclusion of the Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week in Port Elizabeth.

Following a joint decision by the South African Rugby Union (SARU) and the SA Schools Rugby Association (SASRA), the SA Schools selectors on Saturday named a 50-man trials squad instead of an SA Schools team, as has been the custom at previous Under-18 Craven Weeks.

The SA Schools trial match will take place on 28 July, with a squad of 28 set to be named afterwards to take on Wales, France and England next month.

“We have opted for a change in selection strategy, where we have exposed our selectors to a broader base of players at the various Coca-Cola Youth Weeks, as well as a change in our preparation for incoming tests,” said SARU’s Senior Manager: Club, Schools and University Development, Nico Serfontein.

Western Province’s Chris October will coach the SA Schools team, with Boland’s David Coert the team manager.


SA Schools Trials Group
No Player Provincial Union
1 Abongile Nonkontwana Blue Bulls
2 Aidon Davis Eastern Province
3 Akhona Sihunu Border
4 Caswell Khoza Blue Bulls
5 Chad Solomon Western Province
6 Christiaan Massyn Golden Lions
7 Christiaan Meyer Valke
8 Courtne Cupido Boland
9 Daniel du Preez KwaZulu-Natal
10 Dayan van der Westhuizen Blue Bulls
11 Duhan van der Merwe South Western Districts
12 Dylon Smith Golden Lions
13 Edward Schmidt Free State
14 Francois Esterhuizen Boland
15 Ganfried May South Western Districts
16 Gideon Koegelenberg Boland
17 Handre Pollard Western Province
18 Heinrich Viljoen Blue Bulls
19 Hyron Andrews Blue Bulls
20 Jaco van der Walt Golden Lions
21 Jano Venter Pumas
22 Jason Worrall Western Province
23 JD Schickerling Western Province
24 Jean Luc du Preez KwaZulu-Natal
25 Jesse Kriel KwaZulu-Natal
26 Johan Bannink Blue Bulls
27 Johan Labuschagne Valke
28 Jurie Linde Blue Bulls
29 Justin Philips Blue Bulls
30 Koch Marx Golden Lions
31 Leigton Rar van Wyk Western Province
32 Liam Hendricks Western Province
33 Malcolm Marx Golden Lions
34 Marcus Kleinbooi Blue Bulls
35 Matjikinyane Molapo Blue Bulls
36 Nicholas Janse van Resnburg Blue Bulls
37 Ox Nche Free State
38 Pierre Schoeman Blue Bulls
39 Ramone Samuels Western Province
40 Rohan Janse van Rensburg Blue Bulls
41 Rynard Snyman Griffons
42 Ryno Eksteen Blue Bulls
43 Sandile Kubeka KwaZulu-Natal
44 Selwyn Davids Eastern Province
45 Sergeal Petersen Eastern Province
46 Stephan Vermeulen Golden Lions
47 Thabo Mabuza Blue Bulls
48 Warrick Galant South Western Districts
49 Wesley Adonis Western Province
50 Wilco Louw Boland

Related Posts