Seven changes for DHL WP

Aug 17 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 343 Views • No Comments on Seven changes for DHL WP

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There are seven changes to the DHL Western Province team for their Carling Currie Cup encounter with the Sigma Lions at Newlands on Wednesday.

Following the short turnaround from their game on Sunday, there are four changes to the forward pack and three in the backline for the clash with the Johannesburg team, which kicks off at 19h00 on Wednesday.

Up front props Dian Bleuler and Neethling Fouche will start on either side of Scarra Ntubeni, with Ernst van Rhyn back in the starting line-up to captain the team at lock.

In the loose trio Deon Fourie starts at openside flank, with Nama Xaba among the replacements, having played for 80 minutes in the previous three matches.

There is a rotation at scrumhalf with Godlen Masimla in the starting XV and Paul de Wet on the replacements bench, while the other two changes to the backline see centre Ruhan Nel and wing Sergeal Petersen both make their return.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that the players are ready to give everything in what is their last home game of the regular season.

“We have not had much time since our last game on Sunday, but we have embraced that challenge and we are excited to see what this combination can do.

“We have got some quality players returning to the team and we are ready to give it a full go at Newlands,” he said.

DHL Western Province:
15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Dian Bleuler.

Replacements (from):
16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Cornel Smit, 23 Tristan Leyds, 24 Simon Miller, 25 Chris Schreuder.

Related Posts