Several changes to Cell C Sharks Team to face DHL Western Province

Aug 26 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 356 Views • No Comments on Several changes to Cell C Sharks Team to face DHL Western Province

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

With one last push before the Currie Cup semi-finals next week, this Saturday’s match against DHL Western Province at Jonsson Kings Park is vital for maintaining the great form the team has shown over the last few weeks as they look to build before the knockouts.

The Cell C Sharks have an unassailable lead in second place on the Currie Cup log while Province are chasing a top four finish, where they find themselves in fifth position.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls currently occupy top spot on the log, four points clear of the Cell C Sharks and they will fancy their chances against a Toyota Free State side that has always looked dangerous this season, but haven’t had the results to show for it.

There’s an almighty tussle between Tafel Lager Griquas and the New Nation Pumas in third and fourth spot, and both sides will know that a win is all that’s required when they meet to secure a top four finish.

Which all makes for an intriguing last round of Currie Cup action.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has made several changes to last week’s side, bringing in a new front row of Ntuthuko Mchunu, Kerron van Vuuren and Khutha Mchunu for Khwezi Mona, Dan Jooste and Lourens Adriaanse respectively, while Le Roux Roets joins Gerbrandt Grobler in the second row in place of Emile van Heerden and James Venter replaces Dylan Richardson in the final change to the pack.

Amongst the backs, Grant Williams, having been called up to the Springbok squad, has been replaced by Sanele Nohamba while there is a new centre partnership with Murray Koster Werner and Kok taking over from Marius Louw and Jeremy Ward. The final change sees Curwin Bosch in for Anthony Volmink at fullback.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  2. Kerron van Vuuren
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Le Roux Roets
  5. Gerbrandt Grobler
  6. James Venter
  7. Henco Venter
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
  9. Sanele Nohamba
  10. Lionel Cronje
  11. Thaakir Abrahams
  12. Murray Koster
  13. Werner Kok
  14. Yaw Penxe
  15. Curwin Bosch


  1. Dan Jooste
  2. Khwezi Mona
  3. Lourens Adriaanse
  4. Reniel Hugo
  5. Thembelani Bholi
  6. Cameron Wright
  7. Marius Louw
  8. Anthony Volmink

Players not available for selection:

Fez Mbatha – Recovering from a knee injury
Hanru Jacobs – Recovering from a neck injury
Hyron Andrews – Facial fracture
Jaden Hendrikse – Undergone surgery for an ankle fracture
Ruben van Heerden – Recovering from appendix surgery
Sikhumbuzo Notshe – Ruptured patella tendon. His recovery is on track and he is progressing very well.

Related Posts