Snyman bolster Vodacom Blue Bulls

Aug 16 • General News, International • 3235 Views • No Comments on Snyman bolster Vodacom Blue Bulls

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Vodacom Blue Bulls will take on the EP Kings at Loftus Versfeld Friday evening bolstered by the return of RG Snyman at lock. Snyman, one of the stars for the Vodacom Bulls in the Super Rugby season, came off the bench last weekend in the defeat to the Free State Cheetahs and showed he recovered fully from the injury sustained while playing for the SA A side against the England Saxons in June.

Snyman comes in for Jason Jenkins, himself now an injury victim. Jenkins suffered a knee injury in Bloemfontein.

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach Nollis Marais also have a fully fit again Lizo Gqoboko to his disposal and the loose head prop will start in the number one jersey in place of Pierre Schoeman, who moves to the bench.

Marais made one change to the backline as well. Duncan Matthews will start at fullback in place of Ulrich Beyers.

On the bench, Jacobie Adriaanse could make a first appearance for the Blue Bulls, whilst Irne Herbst will fill the vacancy left by Snyman’s promotion.

“We have a certain way we want to play against the EP Kings and named a team accordingly,” Marais said.

“They are unpredictable as a team, so we will have to be sharp and focussed. And expect the unexpected. We will, however, make sure we play the way we want to play and execute well, rather than dwell too much on how the opposition will play.”

Vodacom Blue Bulls captain, Arno Botha, said the team is looking for some consistency.

“We certainly had a dip in standards last week. We are playing at home again and that brings an edge to any Blue Bulls player, but we also have to be more consistent than last week. Soft moments certainly cost us in Bloemfontein. It went well in training, so we are keen to get back on the winning horse again.”

The team is: Duncan Matthews, Jamba Ulengo, Burger Odendaal, Dan Kriel, Bjorn Basson, Tian Schoeman, Piet van Zyl, Arno Botha, Jannes Kirsten, Ruan Steenkamp, Marvin Orie, RG Snyman, Entienne Swanepoel, Jaco Visagie, Lizo Gqoboko. Replacements: Edgar Maruthlulle, Pierre Schoeman, Jacobie Adriaanse, Irne Herbst, Hanro Liebenberg, Andre Warner, Joshua Stander.

Related Posts