Springbok conditioning programme

Sep 7 • International, World Rugby • 1439 Views • No Comments on Springbok conditioning programme

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Jean De Villiers near tryline

Jean De Villiers in Photo by Hilton Kotze

The South African Rugby Union confirmed on Tuesday that all the contracted Springboks will undertake a conditioning programme for the next four weeks and will be withdrawn from their Absa Currie Cup squads until 6 October.

All non-contracted Springboks are available immediately for their provinces. The arrangement has been made in consultation and with agreement with the players’ contracting provinces.

The following contracted Springboks will undertake the conditioning programme:
• Vodacom Blue Bulls – Victor Matfield , Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Wynand Olivier, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez and Pierre Spies
• The Sharks – John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, JP Pietersen and Adi Jacobs
• Vodacom Western Province– Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Ricky Januarie and Andries Bekker
• Vodacom Free State Cheetahs – Juan Smith, Heinrich Brüssow and CJ van der Linde

All players have been given a programme by the Springbok conditioning and medical team and will follow this under the supervision of the Provincial conditioning teams and in consultation with Springbok management. The contracted players will report to Cape Town on 4 October for testing.

The contracted group will be available for the final round robin stage of Absa Currie Cup matches as well as the playoffs.

Issued by SARU Communications

Related Posts