Springboks nominated for 2010 Laureus Awards

Feb 15 • International • 851 Views • No Comments on Springboks nominated for 2010 Laureus Awards

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Springboks captured on camera by Gerhard Steenkamp

The Boks claimed their second Vodacom Tri-Nations crown last year and were triumphant series winners (2-1) over the British & Irish Lions during the Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series.

The Laureus World Team of the Year Award could be the most competitive battle with Los Angeles Lakers, New York Yankees, FC Barcelona, Germany Women’s Football Team and Brawn Formula One.

The Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognise sporting achievement during the January 1 – December 31, 2009, are recognised as the premier honours on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy – the ultimate sports jury made up of 46 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will be unveiled at the Awards Ceremony staged in Abu Dhabi on the 10 March 2010.

This will be the second time the Springboks have been nominated for the Laureus World Team of the Year Award. In February 2008, the South Africa Rugby Team claimed their second World Cup triumph at the 2007 IRB Rugby World Cup in France.

“We thank the media of the world for nominating us as a contender for the Laureus World Team of the Year Award,” said Springbok coach Peter de Villiers.

“We are truly humbled that the top sports journalists have recognised our achievements. Being nominated along with some of the world’s leading teams once again confirms what an amazing year we enjoyed last year. What we achieved was something special and unique and these are the standards we have set ourselves as a squad.

“Winning the Laureus World Team of the Year Award would round off a memorable 2009 season.”

[Story from SuperRugby]

Related Posts