Springboks off to Australia

Jul 13 • General News, International, Springboks, The Rugby Championship, World Rugby • 2512 Views • No Comments on Springboks off to Australia

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
The Springboks had their first outing on Saturday when they played the World XV at Newlands in Cape Town on the weekend.
The match did provide much needed game time for some players, but one would be naive to read too much into the final result as the Springboks ran in seven tries in their 46 – 10 victory.
The match also provided the selectors with some options as to which players could possibly start in Australia when they face the Wallabies in their Castle Lager Rugby Championship opener at the Suncorp Stadium this coming Saturday.
The only player not included in the touring party that took part in the World XV game is Jean de Villiers. De Villiers has been released to Western Province for some game time in their ABSA Currie Cup warm-ups.
The following players have also been included, Lionel Mapoe, Lwazi Mvovo, Rudy Paige, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn, Schalk Brits, Lood de Jager, Frans Malherbe and Heinke van der Merwe.
“I would like to give as many of our squad members as possible game time in the build-up to the Rugby World Cup, so there will be changes against the Wallabies,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.
Injured players Duane Vermeulen, Willem Alberts, Frans Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Steven Kitshoff, were not considered for the week-long tour and will continue with their individualised rehabilitation programmes. The rest of the current Springbok squad who are not on the airplane to Brisbane, will move to Pretoria where they will continue their rehabilitation and conditioning work.
The Springbok squad:
Forwards: Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Marcell Coetzee, Lood de Jager, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Vincent Koch, Francois Louw, Frans Malherbe, Victor Matfield, Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Adriaan Strauss, Heinke van der Merwe, Warren Whiteley.
Backs: Damian De Allende, Bryan Habana, Jesse Kriel, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Lionel Mapoe, Lwazi Mvovo, Rudy Paige, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Handré Pollard, Cobus Reinach, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn.

Written by Pierre Mc Leod

Photo: Werner Nischen / Rugby 15

Related Posts