St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 10 team against Sharks in Durban

Apr 17 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 555 Views • No Comments on St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 10 team against Sharks in Durban

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday night’s match against the Sharks at Jonsson Kings Park in Durban.

After being rested last week in accordance with Rugby Australia’s workload management policy, Sefa Naivalu is back and takes his place on the wing.

Brothers prop Harry Hoopert will earn his first Super Rugby start, while Angus Scott-Young has been promoted off the bench and into the number six jersey seeing Lukhan Salakaia-Loto shift back to lock.

There are a further three changes to the reserves, as JP Smith and Harry Hockings drop to the bench this week.

After making his Queensland debut in South Africa four years ago against the Bulls in Pretoria, University of Queensland backrower Adam Korczyk could potentially play his first game of 2019 after being added to Queensland’s 23.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’ve arrived in Durban in preparation for a tough challenge in playing the Sharks.

“After last week’s result, they’ll be hungry and looking to put in a big performance in front of their home fans.

“It’s great to have Sefa back. He was missed last week. After sitting out against the Bulls, he’s ready to rip in.

“Harry Hoopert gets an opportunity to start for the first time. It’s reward for his hard work and as a group we congratulate this achievement.

“Apart from Scott Higginbotham, the starting forward pack all played Queensland U20s with each other. They’ve all worked and grown together since then. It goes to show the strength and importance of the Queensland pathway,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Sharks at Jonsson Kings Park in Durban on Friday night at 11:05pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

The Reds return home in Round 12 as they host the Sunwolves at Suncorp Stadium on Friday May 3. Tickets available via

St.George Queensland Reds v Sharks – Jonsson Kings Park, Durban on April 19 at 11:05pm AEST

1. Harry Hoopert – Brothers*
2. Alex Mafi – Bond University
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
4. Izack Rodda – Easts
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. Liam Wright – Easts
8. Scott Higginbotham – Wests
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. Bryce Hegarty – GPS
11. Jack Hardy – Easts
12. Samu Kerevi (c) – Souths
13. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths
14. Sefa Naivalu – Norths
15. Hamish Stewart – Bond University

16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
17. JP Smith – GPS 
18. Ruan Smith – GPS 
19. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland 
20. Adam Korczyk – University of Queensland
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests
22. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
23. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland

*Denotes starting debut

Related Posts