St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 18 team against Brumbies in Canberra

Jun 13 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1112 Views • No Comments on St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 18 team against Brumbies in Canberra

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have made two changes to their starting XV for their final match of 2019 against the Brumbies at GIO Stadium Canberra on Saturday night.

Harry Hockings will start at lock in favour of Angus Blyth, while Lukhan Salakaia-Loto returns from his Wallabies rest match and slots into the backrow seeing Angus Scott-Young shift to number eight.

Scott Higginbotham drops to the bench in one-of-three changes to the reserves with Caleb Timu and Sefa Naivalu both back in the Reds’ 23 for this weekend.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “The Brumbies are in good form. It’ll be a tough contest down in Canberra. It’ll be a good challenge to finish the year.

“It’s good to have Lukhan Salakaia-Loto back. He sat out last week as requested by Rugby Australia. Harry Hockings comes into the starting side at lock and Angus Scott-Young moves to number eight.

“Tate McDermott is still recovering from an ankle injury. Scott Malolua continues to impress. He’s played two matches for us now and hasn’t looked out of place,” said Thorn.

A victory on Saturday night would see the Reds reclaim the Rod Macqueen Cup following Queensland’s 36-14 win at Suncorp Stadium in Round 6.

Queensland play the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday night at 7:45pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

St.George Queensland Reds v Brumbies – GIO Stadium Canberra on June 15 at 7:45pm AEST

1. JP Smith – GPS
2. Alex Mafi – Bond University
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
4. Izack Rodda – Easts
5. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland 
6. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
7. Liam Wright – Easts
8. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
9. Scott Malolua – Souths
10. Matt McGahan – Norths
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
12. Samu Kerevi – Souths (c)
13. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths
14. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
15. Bryce Hegarty – GPS

16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
17. Ruan Smith – GPS 
18. Gav Luka – Bond University  
19. Caleb Timu – Souths   
20. Scott Higginbotham – Wests 
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests
22. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
23. Sefa Naivalu – Norths

Related Posts