St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 3 team against Chiefs in Townsville

May 27 • Australia, General News, International, National, New Zealand, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 613 Views • No Comments on St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 3 team against Chiefs in Townsville

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have made four changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s clash against the Chiefs in Townsville.

Wests utility back Isaac Henry will make his starting debut after being named at inside centre for this weekend’s first game of Super Rugby at Queensland Country Bank Stadium in North Queensland.

There’ll be plenty of Fijian flare out wide as Filipo Daugunu returns to the starting side on the left wing with Suliasi Vunivalu on the other flank.

Feao Fotuaika will start at loosehead prop while Angus Scott-Young is also back in the XV at number-six with Liam Wright shifting to openside flanker.

It sees Fraser McReight unleashed as a finisher in one-of-six changes to the Reds’ reserves.

Hamish Stewart and Illaisa Droasese will inject firepower into Queensland’s backline late in the game while Dane Zander, Josh Nasser and Zane Nonggorr are the replacement frontrow combination for this week.

In addition, it’s set to be a special occasion for scrumhalf Tate McDermott who will celebrate his 50th Super Rugby game on Saturday night.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s great to head north and play in front of our North Queensland fans.

“There’s a strong Rugby community in Townsville. We have a good connection with them and want to put on a good performance for our supporters.

“The Chiefs will provide a tough contest. They’re this year’s Aotearoa Grand Finalists and we’re looking forward to the challenge ahead.

“Well done to Tate McDermott on his 50th cap this week. He made his Queensland debut as a 19-year-old back in 2018. He has worked hard within our program and continues to improve on his game. He’s our sixth Red to have brought up 50 games this year which is something special. As a group, we recognise and celebrate Tate’s achievement,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Chiefs on Saturday night at 7:45pm AEST and will be broadcast live on 9Gem and simulcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

The Reds return to Brisbane for their final home match of the year as they host the Blues on Friday 4 June at Suncorp Stadium – CLICK HERE to secure your seat.

St.George Queensland Reds v Chiefs – Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville on 29 May at 7:45pm AEST

  1. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank
  2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
  3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
  4. Ryan Smith – Brothers
  5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
  6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
  7. Liam Wright – Easts (co-captain)
  8. Harry Wilson – Brothers
  9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
  10. James O’Connor – Brothers (co-captain)
  11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
  12. Isaac Henry* – Wests
  13. Hunter Paisami – Wests
  14. Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
  15. Bryce Hegarty – GPS


  1. Josh Nasser – University of Queensland
  2. Dane Zander – Norths
  3. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University
  4. Seru Uru – Easts
  5. Fraser McReight – Brothers
  6. Kalani Thomas – University of Queensland
  7. Hamish Stewart – Brothers
  8. Ilaisa Droasese – Wests

*denotes Super Rugby/Queensland starting debut

Related Posts