St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 5 team against Sharks at Suncorp Stadium

Feb 27 • General News, International, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 947 Views • No Comments on St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 5 team against Sharks at Suncorp Stadium

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have made two changes to their starting side for Saturday’s home match against the Sharks at Suncorp Stadium.

Harry Hockings will start at lock for the first time this season, while backrower Angus Scott-Young has been recalled into the 23 for this weekend’s clash.

There are a further two changes to the reserves with Scott-Young’s promotion to blindside flanker seeing Lukhan Salakaia-Loto set to come on a finisher and provide impact off the bench.

After serving a five-week suspension following a dangerous tackle during Queensland’s opening pre-season fixture in Gladstone, Filipo Daugunu comes back into the side for Saturday’s match.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’ve got a tough opponent in the Sharks. They’re on the last leg of their tour and will be looking to finish strongly.

“It’s great to be at home again this week. We love playing in front of our Queensland fans. We look forward to another good crowd on Saturday night.

“We’ll continue to work hard this week and grow our game, as the guys push towards their potential,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Sharks on Saturday night at 6:15pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports. The match is part of a Double Header at Suncorp Stadium with the St.George Queensland Reds taking on the Rebels in their Super W Round 3 encounter at 3:40pm.

The Reds travel to Christchurch next weekend to take on the Crusaders before returning home to host the Pretoria-based Bulls at Suncorp Stadium on 14 March at 6:15pm AEST CLICK HERE for tickets. 

St.George Queensland Reds v Sharks – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on 29 February at 6:15pm AEST

JP Smith – GPS

Alex Mafi – Bond University

Taniela Tupou – Brothers

Izack Rodda – Easts

Harry Hockings – University of Queensland

Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland

Liam Wright © – Easts

Harry Wilson – Brothers

Tate McDermott – University of Queensland

James O’Connor – Brothers

Henry Speight – Bond University

Hamish Stewart – Brothers

Hunter Paisami – Wests

Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths

Jock Campbell – University of Queensland


Ed Craig – TBC

Harry Hoopert – Brothers

Josh Nasser – University of Queensland

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths

Fraser McReight – Brothers

Scott Malolua – GPS

Isaac Lucas – Sunnybank

Filipo Daugunu – Wests

Related Posts