St.George Queensland Reds announce squad for Rebels pre-season match in Gladstone

Jan 16 • Australia, General News, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 348 Views • No Comments on St.George Queensland Reds announce squad for Rebels pre-season match in Gladstone

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have announced a 28-man squad for their opening pre-season fixture against the Melbourne Rebels in Gladstone tomorrow afternoon.

The squad features a strong mix of experience and exciting fresh talent in what will be the Reds first hit-out of 2020.

James O’Connor is set to turn-out for Queensland for the first time in five years, while four fellow new signings (Dave Feao, Tuaina Taii Tualima, Seru Uru, Hunter Paisami), plus Developing Squad duo Dane Zander and Ilaisa Droasese will also get their first chance to impress ahead of the Super Rugby season.

Following strong performances in the National Rugby Championship (NRC) last year, Brisbane City pairing Lawson Creighton and Ryan Smith were invited to train with Queensland during the pre-season and have been rewarded with selection in tomorrow’s uncapped fixture in Central Queensland.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re looking forward to travelling to Gladstone and playing some footy in front of our Queensland fans.

“It’s a good opportunity for the new guys to step-up. It’ll be a good first hit-out and they’ll be up for the contest,” said Thorn.

The match in Gladstone will be the first of two pre-season fixtures for the Reds, as Queensland host their oldest rival New South Wales on Friday January 24 in Dalby.

The Reds play the Rebels at Marley Brown Oval in Gladstone tomorrow afternoon at 2:45pm AEST and will be live-streamed via

CLICK HERE for tickets to the Gladstone pre-season match

CLICKHERE for tickets to the Dalby pre-season match

St.George Queensland Reds v Melbourne Rebels – Marley Brown Oval, Gladstone on 17 January at 2:45pm AEST

Dane Zander
Brandon Paenga-Amosa
Alex Mafi
Sean Farrell
Efi Ma’afu
Taniela Tupou
Dave Feao
Josh Nasser
Angus Blyth
Lukhan Salakaia-Loto
Ryan Smith
Tuaina Taii Tualima
Angus Scott-Young
Liam Wright
Harry Wilson
Seru Uru

Tate McDermott
Moses Sorovi
Isaac Lucas
James O’Connor
Hamish Stewart
Hunter Paisami
Chris Feauai-Sautia
Filipo Daugunu
Jock Campbell
Ilaisa Droasese
Bryce Hegarty
Lawson Creighton

Related Posts