Mar 3 • Australia, General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 669 Views • No Comments on STANDER TO LEAD THE FORCE AGAINST THE WARATAHS

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Brynard Stander will lead the Western Force out as run-on captain this Friday at 4:45pm (AWST) against the NSW Waratahs at Bankwest Stadium in Western Sydney.

Head Coach Tim Sampson has made nine changes to the squad for the club’s first away trip of the Super Rugby AU season.

Star Argentinian scrumhalf Tomás Cubelli and experienced Australian flyhalf Jake McIntyre are set to combine as the halves pairing in the Round 3 clash against the Waratahs for their first start in a Force jersey after their impressive performances in Round 1.

In the forwards pack, former Australia 7’s representative Tim Anstee has been named to make his Super Rugby starting debut following a strong showing off the bench in the season opener.

Former Chiefs and ACT Brumbies speedster Toni Pulu is set to make his first appearance for the club on the left wing, while Byron Ralston maintains his place at 14.

Hooker Andrew Ready returns to the matchday 23, with exciting young Argentinian flyhalf Domingo Miotti also named on the bench and poised to make his debut for the Force.

Sampson was full of praise for Stander, as the number eight prepares to captain the side for the first time in his eight years with the club.

“It’s nothing but 100% from Brynard. He trains exceptionally well, he’s a very passionate and loyal player,” the Head Coach explained.

“His contributions to the club from over the years have been outstanding. It’s a great achievement for Brynard to lead the team out this week.”

Full Team:

1,Tom Robertson, 2. Feleti Kaitu’u, 3. Santiago Medrano, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 5. Fergus Lee-Warner, 6. Tim Anstee, 7. Kane Koteka, 8. Brynard Stander, 9. Tomás Cubelli, 10. Jake McIntyre, 11. Toni Pulu, 12. Richard Kahui, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Byron Ralston, 15. Rob Kearney.

16. Andrew Ready, 17. Angus Wagner, 18. Greg Holmes, 19. Ryan McCauley, 20. Tomás Lezana, 21. Ian Prior, 22. Domingo Miotti, 23. Marcel Brache.

Related Posts