Steval Pumas name their side to take on Boland

Apr 20 • General News • 2073 Views • No Comments on Steval Pumas name their side to take on Boland

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Currie Cup Qualifier: Steval Pumas vs Boland Cavaliers

Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit (Mbombela)

Date: 22 April 2016

Kick-off: 19:00


Currie Cup Qualifier 2016


Head Coach of the Steval Pumas, MJ Mentz announced his 22 man squad for the third 2016 Currie Cup Qualifier match of the season this Friday in Nelspruit. He made several changes to his starting line-up to take on the Boland Cavaliers.


“With our backs slightly against the wall, we need to show true Puma character. Although there are 12 matches to play in the tournament to accumulate points, we need to start picking up the pace and find our rhythm. We expect a strong onslaught from the Wellington boys, who have won their first two matches convincingly,” Coach MJ Mentz said.


Back in the squad after three months in France, is the experienced prop, De-Jay Terblanché. He was cleared this week after returning with a calf injury. Another experienced player in the mix is the utility back, Deon Helberg, who made his debut for the Steval Pumas last year at the National Inter Provincial Seven’s Tournament hosted at Mbombela Stadium.


“April is International Autism Month, and to show our support, we will be playing with blue arm-bands. On the evening a couple of kids from Dasha Foundation in Nelspruit will form a guard of honour to both teams to take the field. It’s a huge privilege for us to join hands with the Mbombela Local Municipality in this awareness initiative,” Mentz concluded.


The Steval Pumas:

  1. 15 Heinrich Steyl
  2. 14 Bernado Botha – in for Tyler Fisher
  3. 13 Hoffmann Maritz
  4. 12 Hennie Skorbinski – in for Wilmaure Louw
  5. 11 Marcello Sampson
  6. 10 Justin van Staden
  7. 9 Reynier van Rooyen
  8. 8 Carel Greeff
  9. 7 Lambert Groenewald
  10. 6 Nardus van der Walt – in for Marnus Schoeman
  11. 5 Hugo Kloppers (captain)
  12. 4 Stephan Greeff
  13. 3 Marné Coetzee
  14. 2 Frank Herne
  15. 1 Simon Westraadt – in for Khwezi Mona



  1. 16 Francois du Toit
  2. 17 De-Jay Terblanché – in for Simon Westraadt
  3. 18 Jannie Stander
  4. 19 Marnus Schoeman – in for Dylan Peterson
  5. 20 Emile Temperman
  6. 21 Deon Helberg – in for Leighton van Wyk
  7. 22 Tyler Fisher – in for Bernado Botha

Related Posts