Team Release – Cell C Sharks XV vs. Free State

May 18 • General News • 1332 Views • No Comments on Team Release – Cell C Sharks XV vs. Free State

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Cell C Sharks vs. Free State

Date : Saturday, 20 May 2017
Time : 15h00
Venue Ashton College, Ballito
Referee Stuart Berry

The Cell C Sharks XV take the Supersport Rugby Challenge to Ballito this Saturday afternoon (3 pm) when they host Free State at Ashton College, looking to continue their great form.

Last week’s 32-5 bonus point victory over the log-leading Leopards at the Douglas Mitchell Sports Ground on the KZN South Coast showed what the team is capable of and coach Paul Anthony is expecting more of the same.

“The boys have grown from strength to strength,” he explained. “Getting a win with a bonus point against the top of the table Leopards last weekend, in the rain, was outstanding, the players really put in a stirring performance. The unity and synergy really came through in that match, the players played with absolute commitment and passion.”

He has made six enforced changes, with all six representing call-ups to the Vodacom Super Rugby squad that left early this week for Singapore for their clash with the Sunwolves.

Two changes in the front row feature prop Juan Schoeman and John-Hubert Meyer being replaced by Ngoni Chidoma and Gerhard Engelbrecht respectively, with one more change to the pack of forwards, Wian Vosloo coming in for the travelling Jacques Vermeulen on the flank.

Courtney Winnaar has been called up to take over from Benhard Janse van Rensburg at flyhalf with Damian Stevens moving into the starting line-up at scrum-half, in place of Rowan Gouws, who is on the bench for the Vodacom Super Rugby side.

Tristan Blewett in for Johan Deysel at centre and Odwa Ndungane returning to the side in place of S’bura Sithole in the three changes to the backline.

The Free State team have lost all three of their matches in the competition, but interestingly enough have secured two bonus points from each match.

“Having seen some top players promoted to the Super Rugby squad, which is a good thing, I’m looking forward to that same commitment,” said Anthony who wants no let-up in the level of intensity.“I’m looking forward to seeing them make their mark against a good Free State side who I believe have been unlucky to lose.

“We’re really looking forward to taking the game to the community of Ballito and to again see the fighting spirit shown in the last few weeks. We expect this to be an absolute cracker of a game.”

Cell C Sharks XV
1.         Ngoni Chidoma
2.         Stephan Coetzee
3.         Gerhard Engelbrecht
4.         Jean Droste
5.         Hyron Andrews
6.         Khaya Majola
7.         Wian Vosloo
8.         Keegan Daniel (v/c)
9.         Damian Stevens
10.       Courtney Winnaar
11.       Morne Joubert
12.       Marius Louw
13.       Tristan Blewett
14.       Odwa Ndungane (c)
15.       Clement Poitrenaud

16.       Kerron van Vuuren
17.       Thierry Kounga
18.       Ruan Kramer
19.       Rikus Zwart
20.       Graham Geldenhuys
21.       Hanco Venter
22.       Danrich Visagie

Related Posts