Jun 4 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 776 Views • No Comments on THE SHARKS MEDIA RELEASE TOURING SQUAD TO ARGENTINA

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks leave for Argentina today to take on the Jaguares in our penultimate pool match of the 2019 Vodacom Super Rugby campaign.

Saturday’s match is the second last of the pool stages, followed by a successive away game – to the DHL Stormers in Cape Town – before the start of the knock-out rounds.

With the congestion in the South African pool as it is, both of these intra-conference matches take on huge importance as the jockeying for positions reaches its climactic flourish.

Head coach Rob du Preez has named a 25 man squad that travels to Argentina, taking 14 forwards and 11 backs. Akker van der Merwe remains on the injured list and has not been included, but good news is the possible return to play for Craig Burden who has been named as the second hooker along with Kerron van Vuuren.

Injuries have also ruled out Beast Mtawarira and Cameron Wright whose replacement on tour is the exciting scrumhalf Zee Makhabela who made his debut off the bench against the Hurricanes at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Saturday. Jeremy Ward, who has led the Cell C Sharks XV in the SuperSport Challenge has also been included amongst the backs.

Cell C Sharks Touring Squad

Coenie OosthuizenLouis Schreuder (Captain)
Craig BurdenAndre Esterhuizen
Daniel du PreezAphelele Fassi
Hyron AndrewsCurwin Bosch
Jacques VermeulenJeremy Ward
Jean-Luc du PreezKobus van Wyk
John-Hubert MeyerLukhanyo Am
Juan SchoemanMakazole Mapimpi
Kerron van VuurenRobert du Preez
Mzamo MajolaSbu Nkosi
Ruan BothaZee Makhabela
Ruben van Heerden
Thomas du Toit
Tyler Paul

Related Posts