Oct 20 • General News, National • 3958 Views • No Comments on THERON AND WILLIAMS BAG TOP HONOURS AT CAVALIERS AWARDS CEREMONY

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

CLINTON THERON was named Boland Cavaliers Player of the Year for 2017 at Boland Rugby’s annual awards ceremony held in Wellington on Thursday 19 October 2017. 

Theron who played tight head prop for the Cavaliers during this year’s Supersport Rugby Challenge and Currie Cup First Division competitions, received this award based on his consistent good performances and strong work ethic during the season, as well as the fact that he played more minutes of rugby than any other player in the Cavaliers squad, “a feat that is almost unheard of when it comes to front rowers nowadays,” according to Cavaliers head coach Randall Modiba.


Ludio Williams received the Players’ Player of the Year award for 2017, as voted for by his team mates. This award, often regarded as the ultimate compliment in sport, was well received as Williams was still a club player in 2016. Williams impressed immensely during his first full season with Boland Rugby’s professional team and as the season progressed, the physical flank-forward eventually became a regular starter for the Cavaliers. 

Other awards went to centre Edwin Sass (Backline Player of the Year) and the evergreen hooker Clemen Lewis (Forward Player of the Year). 

Lewis and Boland Cavaliers captain Zandré Jordaan also received their official caps for playing in their 150th and 100th Boland Cavaliers matches respectively earlier in the season.



Player of the Year: Clinton Theron

Players’ Player of the Year: Ludio Williams

Backline Player of the Year: Edwin Sass

Forward Player of the Year: Clemen Lewis


Related Posts