Mar 9 • Australia, General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 533 Views • No Comments on THRUSH RETURNS FOR WARATAHS CLASH

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Western Force welcome two changes to the Round 4 starting XV for Sunday’s game against the NSW Waratahs at Leichhardt Oval in Sydney.

Former All Black Jeremy Thrush will make his first Super Rugby Pacific appearance of 2022, with the veteran lock returning from injury. With over 120 Super Rugby caps to his name, Thrush adds invaluable experience to the line-up, as Fergus Lee-Warner moves to flanker.

Bayley Kuenzle starts at inside centre after missing the last two rounds, with Richard Kahui moving to the bench. The exciting midfielder, Kuenzle, sustained a knock in his Force debut during the season opener against the ACT Brumbies in Canberra that ruled him out of the following two games.

Lock Izack Rodda will be making his 50th Super Rugby appearance this Sunday, with the Wallaby looking to continue his fine early season form in a Force jersey.

After starting together for the first time last Friday against the Queensland Reds at HBF Park, Issak Fines-Leleiwasa and Reesjan Pasitoa continue their partnership and scrum-half and fly-half respectively.

Jackson Pugh retains his spot in the matchday 23 having made his Force debut against the Reds in Round 3. The 22-year-old lock was a late inclusion for Kane Koteka last week, with Koteka unavailable this week due to injury.

Head coach Tim Sampson said: “Jeremy (Thrush) will add a lot of experience to our forward pack. This gives Fergus Lee-Warner an opportunity in the six jersey, which is where he trained a lot during pre-season.”

β€œBayley (Kuenzle) is back after the head knock a few weeks back and it’s great for him to be back in the starting XV. He showed a lot of promise throughout pre-season and in the trial game up in Brisbane,” Sampson added.

Full Team:
1.Tom Robertson, 2. Feleti Kaitu’u (c), 3. Santiago Medrano, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 5. Izack Rodda, 6. Fergus Lee-Warner, 7. Ollie Callan, 8. Tim Anstee, 9. Issak Fines-Leleiwasa 10. Reesjan Pasitoa, 11. Manasa Mataele, 12. Bayley Kuenzle, 13. Kyle Godwin (vc), 14. Toni Pulu, 15. Jake Strachan.

16. Andrew Ready, 17. Harrison Lloyd, 18. Greg Holmes, 19. Jackson Pugh, 20. Brynard Stander, 21. Ian Prior, 22. Jake McIntyre, 23. Richard Kahui.

Related Posts