Top junior Sevens players ready to make their mark

Sep 28 • General News, Sevens Rugby • 1046 Views • No Comments on Top junior Sevens players ready to make their mark

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Some of South Africa’s top junior rugby players will showcase their skills on Friday and Saturday at the SA Rugby Under-17 Interprovincial Sevens, which will be hosted at Durban High School.

The tournament features 16 teams that have been divided into four pools. Each team will play three matches in the pool rounds on Friday, while the seeding matches will be hosted on Saturday and will conclude with the Shield, Bowl, Plate and Cup Finals.

Western Province, who were crowned champions for a second successive year in 2015, have been drawn in Pool A with Griquas, Free State and Namibia, while Pool B comprises 2015 finalists SWD, the Falcons, Griffons and Eastern Province.

Boland, the Blue Bulls, Border and the Leopards will battle it out in Pool C, and the Golden Lions, Pumas, Limpopo Blue Bulls and KwaZulu-Natal will go head-to-head in Pool D.

The Golden Lions and KwaZulu-Natal will meet in the opening match on Friday at 10h40, which will be followed by a clash between the Pumas and Limpopo Blue Bulls. The action will continue throughout the day, with the final pool match between Western Province and Griquas kicking off at 18h40.

SA Rugby U17 Interprovincial Sevens day-one fixtures – Friday, 30 September:


10h40 – Golden Lions vs KwaZulu-Natal

11h00 – Pumas vs Limpopo Blue Bulls

11h20 – Boland vs Leopards

11h40 – Blue Bulls vs Border

12h00 – SWD vs Eastern Province

12h20 – Falcons vs Griffons

12h40 – Griquas vs Free State

13h00 – Western Province vs Namibia

13h20 – Golden Lions vs Limpopo Blue Bulls

13h40 – Pumas vs KwaZulu-Natal

14h00 – Boland vs Border

14h20 – Blue Bulls vs Leopards

14h40 – SWD vs Griffons

15h00 – Falcons vs Eastern Province

15h20 – Griquas vs Namibia

16h00 – Western Province vs Free State

16h20 – Golden Lions vs Pumas

16h40 – Limpopo Blue Bulls vs KwaZulu-Natal

17h00 – Boland vs Blue Bulls

17h20 – Border vs Leopards

17h40 – SWD vs Falcons

18h00 – Griffons vs Eastern Province

18h20 – Free State vs Namibia

18h40 – Western Province vs Griquas


Issued by SA Rugby Communications

Related Posts