Feb 12 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 386 Views • No Comments on TOUR SQUAD TO SINGAPORE

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Cell C Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has named his touring squad that travels to Singapore today ahead of the team’s Vodacom Super Rugby round one clash with the Sunwolves.

A 25-man squad has been selected for the opening week’s action with du Preez selecting a strong side with a handful of youngsters who have really put up their hands in the two pre-season matches (against the Emirates Lions and Vodacom Bulls) to date.

Eighthman Phepsi Buthelezi has impressed and continues where he left off – leading the Cell C Sharks Under 19s to SA Rugby Under 19 Competition success last year. He is joined by Kerron van Vuuren who has shown the ability and temperament necessary to play at this level.

Aphelele Fassi and Khutha Mchunu have Currie Cup experience and add depth to this strong and exciting side.

Getting the season off on a winning note is the team’s paramount duty, explains Cell C Sharks prop Coenie Oosthuizen. A powerful side is going to Singapore and they mean business – right from the get-go.

“Starting the tournament on a high is very important, we don’t want to play catch-up rugby. 

“This is not an easy game for us, especially not there in Singapore, it’s like playing the Cheetahs – you don’t go to Bloemfontein and win easily.  We expect them to put up a fight physically, they maul well, they can stand up to any pack, it’s what we expect from any South African team.

“Underestimating the Sunwolves is one of the biggest mistakes a team can make.”

Curwin Bosch and Marius Louw who were initially in the tour squad stayed behind due to carrying slight niggles.

Saturday’s clash kicks off at 12.55pm at Singapore’s National Stadium.

Cell C Sharks Touring Squad

1. Akker van der Merwe
2. Andre Esterhuizen
3. Aphelele Fassi
4. Cameron Wright
5. Coenie Oosthuizen
6. Daniel du Preez
7. Gideon Koegelenberg
8. Hyron Andrews
9. Jacques Vermeulen
10. Jeremy Ward
11. Juan Schoeman
12. Kerron van Vuuren
13. Khutha Mchunu
14. Louis Schreuder (c)
15. Lukhanyo Am
16. Lwazi Mvovo
17. Makazole Mapimpi
18. Phepsi Buthelezi
19. Rhyno Smith
20. Robert du Preez
21. Ruan Botha
22. Sbu Nkosi
23. Beast Mtawarira
24. Tyler Paul
25. Wian Vosloo

Related Posts