Toyota Free State squad for SA Rugby Under-21 Championship

Sep 30 • General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 1114 Views • No Comments on Toyota Free State squad for SA Rugby Under-21 Championship

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The 2020 SA Rugby Under-21 Championship, featuring five provincial sides, will kick off on Sunday 4 October and will be played at one venue – Emirates Airline Park in Johannesburg – culminating in the final on 30 October, SA Rugby announced on Wednesday.

The Xerox Lions Under-21 side will welcome their counterparts from the Cell C Sharks, Toyota Free State, DHL Western Province and Vodacom Blue Bulls to their iconic stadium for this exciting, action packed and streamlined tournament.

All teams will play each once, with semi-finals and a final to conclude this showpiece of the best emerging South African rugby talent, with two matches to take place every four days.

The hosts will take on Toyota Free State in their opening match on Sunday 4 October, a couple of hours after the North-South derby between DHL Western Province and defending champions, the Vodacom Blue Bulls. The Cell C Sharks have a bye in the first round.

All five teams will be based in Johannesburg for the duration of the tournament. Current COVID-19 regulations will be in effect, with no spectators allowed and limited working personnel allowed in the stadium on match days.

The SA Rugby U21 Championship fixtures for 2020 are (kick-off times to be confirmed):

Sunday 4 October (Round One)
DHL Western Province v Vodacom Blue Bulls
Toyota Free State v Xerox Lions
Bye: Cell C Sharks

Thursday 8 October (Round Two)
Vodacom Blue Bulls v Toyota Free State
Xerox Lions v Cell C Sharks
Bye: DHL Western Province

Monday 12 October (Round Three)
DHL Western Province v Cell C Sharks
Xerox Lions v Vodacom Blue Bulls
Bye: Toyota Free State

Friday 16 October (Round Four)
DHL Western Province v Toyota Free State
Cell C Sharks v Vodacom Blue Bulls
Bye: Xerox Lions

Tuesday 20 October (Round Five)
Toyota Free State v Cell C Sharks
Xerox Lions v DHL Western Province
Bye: Vodacom Blue Bulls

Semi-finals: Sunday 25 October

Final: Friday 30 October

Toyota Free State u.21:
Johan Schutte, Gerrit Visser, Henty Beukes, Wihan Marais, JW Meads, William Moffat, Janus Venter, Ruben Cronje, Gustav Meyer, Dean Niewoudt, Lohan Potgieter, Zander du Toit, Ruwald van der Merwe, Thapelo Ramoshaba, Marius van der Skyff, Gideon van Wyk, Pierre Uys, Niel Venter, Charles Williams, JD Strydom, Franco Smith, Aya Matroos, Janco van Heyningen, Jandre Nel, Cornel Korff, Lesley Botha, Siyanda Cele, Shane Bolton, Juandre Sabbat, Wikus Basson, Marcell Muller, Luyanda Jack.

Related Posts