Apr 4 • Australia, Club Rugby, General News • 2518 Views • No Comments on PINDAN PREMIER GRADE PREVIEW: ROUND 2

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Saturday, 5 April, 2014
Kick-off times:
First Grade: 3.30pm
Reserve Grade: 1.50pm
Good Life Under 19: 12.30pm

Western Force players playing this round:

Associates: Dylan Sage

Cottesloe: Robbie Abel, Dane Haylett-Petty

Nedlands: Patrick Dellit

Palmyra: Dillyn Leyds

Perth Bayswater: Chris Heiberg

UWA: Luke Burton, Francois Van Wyk

Wanneroo: Phoenix Battye, Rory Walton

Wests Scarborough: Brad Lacey

Match of the Round: Cottesloe (4) v Nedlands (2) at Harvey Field, Cottesloe

Nedlands and Cottesloe will suit up for their first grand final rematch of 2014 when they go head to head at Harvey Field on Saturday.

Both sides had comfortable wins last weekend with Cottesloe accounting for Perth-Bayswater, 27-0 at Harvey Field while Nedlands was too strong for Wests Scarborough, 33-18.

Nedlands coach Gus Martyn said his side is looking forward to fronting the Gulls for the first time since winning the 2013 decider, 20-14.

“It’s first and second from last year’s competition and so there’ll be a little bit extra in the game,” he said.

“Still being the start of the season, we’re just trying to focus on ourselves and getting our game into order. Wests put out a good side last weekend and I expect them to be around the top four again at the end of this season, but this week against Cottesloe is the big test for us.”

Cottesloe coach Ian Fowler said pushing forward in this year’s competition – not avenging last year’s grand final loss – is his side’s motivation on Saturday.

“Anytime you play against Nedlands is a good day so hopefully we’ll get a big crowd down there to watch some quality rugby,” he said.

“Nedlands is a good team and they will be there or thereabouts again at the end of the year. They are probably the benchmark team and this is a good opportunity for us to see where we’re at.

“We were pretty solid defensively last week and last season, and –while it’s a bit hard to take too much out of last week’s game due to the conditions – we are happy to keep any team to zero.

Scrumhalf Charl Neuwenhuis has been named in place of Ryan Louwrens, who has been ruled out with a knee injury, while injured Western Force outside back Ed Stubbs is replaced by Alaistair Haining.

Nedlands has made just the one change with Davis Tavita replacing Dylan Loversidge at flyhalf.

Cottesloe: 1. Kaisa Reidy /Hugo Conti, 2. Robbie Abel, 3. Shaun Nankervis, 4. Tim Ryan, 5. Kieran Stringer, 6. Adrian Hall, 7. Jarrett Budworth, 8. Rory Crowhen, 9. Charl Neuwenhuis, 10. Wian Lamprecht /Sam Heinemann, 11. Ed Melville, 12. Tobias Hoskins, 13. Alistair Haining, 14. Pate Ratubuli, 15. Dane Haylett-Petty.

Nedlands: 1. Lei Aholelie, 2. Mason Pomare, 3. Travis Church, 4. Michael Egan, 5. Scott Stevens, 6. Jandrie Van Der Westhuizen, 7. Shane Hemi, 8. Richard Naylor, 9. Michael Ruru, 10. Davis Tavita, 11. Jake Wilson, 12. Ryan McLeod, 13. Cam Crowley, 14. Isi Lata, 15. Patrick Dellit.

Referee: Rob Kellam

Palmyra (1) v Wests Scarborough (7) at Tompkins Park, Alfred Coves

After just falling short of the grand final last year, Palmyra leapt to the top of the table after round one with a 43-18 win over UWA.

This weekend they will look to continue that momentum when they front Wests Scarborough at Tompkins Park.

Wests Scarborough had a tough start to their season against Nedlands, going down 33-18 to the reigning premiers at the Foreshore.

Wests have made a number of changes to their opening round side, including naming Matt O’Brien, Kane Koteka and No.8 Lorenzo Devilliars in their starting forward pack.

Following his two-try performance off the bench, Vaa Mailei returns to the Palmyra starting line-up while Western Force playmaker Dillyn Leyds, who also made an impact from the reserves list, will start at fullback, with Ray Moloney shifting into the centres.

Palmyra: 1. Steve Mangan, 2. Shane Manu, 3. Conor Higgins, 4. Chris Bell, 5. Padraig DeBurca, 6. Hayden Baird, 7. Sean Stapleton, 8. Jimmy Tioke, 9. Brad Fell, 10. Adam Kennedy, 11. Vincent Booiman, 12. Ray Moloney, 13. Vaa Mailei, 14. Zane Butler, 15. Dillyn Leyds.

Wests Scarborough: 1. Dylan Crawford, 2. Ant Usmar, 3. Justin Terry, 4. Riley Winter, 5. Matt O’Brien, 6. Brad Griffiths, 7. Kane Koteka, 8. Lorenzo Devilliars, 9. Peter Shaw, 10. Marty Campbell, 11. James Fairburn, 12. Sheldon Tarawa, 13. Saula Fifita, 14. Brad Lacey, 15. Chance Bunce.

Referee: Kyle Burnett

UWA (8) v Associates (3) at McGillivray Oval, Mt. Claremont

After coming off the bye, Associates will get their first opportunity to play for Pindan Premier Grade points against UWA at McGillivray Oval.

After contesting the 2012 grand final, Associates finished outside the top four last season and will be keen to return to the finals mix when their campaign begins this week.

UWA, who are coming off 25-point loss to Palmyra, has been boosted by the inclusion of their Under 20 stars, including hooker Harry Scoble, lock Corey Thomas, flanker Richard Hardwick and flyhalf Luke Burton.

Hardwick will go head-to-head with Associates openside flanker and older brother Michael.

UWA: 1. Nevin Mills, 2. Harry Scoble, 3. Frans van Wyk, 4. Corey Thomas/Oscar Backhouse, 5. Tim Carlsaw, 6. Cian O’Connor, 7. Richard Hardwick, 8. Jeremy Smith, 9. Ethan Carlisle, 10. Luke Burton, 11. Aden Higo, 12. James Wilson, 13. Joel Rapana, 14. Mike Lees, 15. Christian Joubert

Associates: 1. Jon Ogilvie 2. Esteban Bustillo, 3. Andi Lawrence, 4. Lachlan Valentine, 5. Kevin Ingram-Gillson, 6. Alex Rovira, 7. Michael Hardwick, 8. Michael Pollastri, 9. Kylan Yoxall, 10. George Salter, 11. Alexis Taillard, 12. Casper Nel, 13. Ammon Matuauto, 14. Sataleki Atiola, 15. Rob Ingram/Dylan Sage.

Referee: Graham Cooper

Wanneroo (6) v Perth Bayswater (9) at Kingsway Reserve, Landsdale

Both Wanneroo and Perth Bayswater will get their opportunity to open their accounts this week in Landsdale with both sides suffering opening round losses last week.

Wanneroo lost a tight encounter to Kalamunda, 20-16, while Cottesloe were too strong for Perth Bayswater, running out 27-0 victors.

Perth Bayswater have added Chase Murray to their starting 15 on the right wing in place of Meauli Fakaua.

Wanneroo: 1. Owen Italiano, 2. Scott Cornell, 3. Toby Foster, 4. Phoenix Battye/Timothy Iro, 5. Rory Walton/Nathan Yoder, 6. Adam Candy, 7. Adam Reedy, 8. Brian Lush, 9. Devin Hendry, 10. Tane Puki, 11. Declan Fisher, 12. Andrew King, 13. Dylane Winika, 14. Claudio-Luis De-Quintal, 15. Chris Creek.

Perth-Bayswater: 1.Chris Heiberg 2. Zinzan Ransfield, 3. Samuel Taleni, 4. Brent Murphy, 5. Jonathon Stanley, 6. Joel Winterburn, 7. Jacob Buist, 8. Adam Ross, 9. Jackson Condren, 10. Dylan Timu, 11. Jack Garrett, 12. William Yates, 13. TBA, 14. Chase Murray, 15. Zubayr Abrahams

Referee: Alex Ninkov

BYE: Kalamunda

Related Posts