Tewis gets the nod ahead of Piet van Zyl

Feb 22 • International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 2497 Views • Comments Off on Tewis gets the nod ahead of Piet van Zyl

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Tewis de Bruyn & Riaan Smit. Photo by Denese Lups /Rugby15

Morgan Piek – Pieter van Zyl will have to wait a little while longer to make his starting debut in Super Rugby.  The Toyota Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has rather opted to go for experience in the form of their seasoned campaigner, Tewis de Bryan ahead of their first season opener against the MTN Lions at Coca-Cola Park on Saturday.

Tewis De Bruyn has recently returned from a short stint in Toulon. Reports have been suggesting that he has returned from his spell in France sharper than before. He will however have to be on top of his game, especially with the highly impressive youngster Pieter van Zyl breathing down his neck. De Bryan should have been the number one choice at the Toyota Cheetahs after the departure of Sarel Pretorius at the end of last season. Sarel has been contracted to play for the Sydney based New South Wales Waratahs.

“Super Sarel” as he is affectionately known by the supporters in South Africa will however be back and playing for the Toyota Free State Cheetahs in the Currie Cup this year.

Johan Goosen, making his Super Rugby will be the Cheetahs kingpin alongside fellow debutant, loose forward,  Pieter “Lappies” Labuschagne.

It will be imperative for the Cheetahs to win away against Lions in the opener, as they have the Bulls at home the following weekend. After their game against the Bulls they’ll be jetting off overseas for a month. The Cheetahs are renowned for being bad travellers.


15 Hennie Daniller

14 Dusty Noble,

13 Robert Ebersohn

12 Andries Strauss

11 Rocco Jansen

10 Johan Goosen

9 Tewis de Bruyn

8 Davon Raubenheimer

7 Lappies Labuschagné/Philip van der Walt

6 Heinrich Brüssow

5 Izak van der Westhuizen

4 Andries Ferreira

3 WP Nel

2 Adriaan Strauss (c)

1 Trevor Nyakane


16 Hercu Liebenberg

17 Lourens Adriaanse

18 Waltie Vermeulen

19 Ashley Johnson

20 Pieter van Zyl

21 Sias Ebersohn

22 Willie le Roux

Related Posts

« »