Bismarck returns to face the Chiefs

Apr 19 • General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 2080 Views • Comments Off on Bismarck returns to face the Chiefs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Bismarck Du Plessis of the Sharks during the Super Rugby match between The Sharks and MTN Lions at Mr Price Kings Park on March 10, 2012 in Durban, South Africa. Photo by Gallo Image.

There are no real surprises in The Sharks team announced to meet the Chiefs at Mr Price King Park  in a Week Nine Vodacom Super Rugby clash, although the news is good surrounding the availability of hooker Bismarck du Plessis.

A variety of small injury issues have been deemed just that – small – and he has been passed fit to start against the table-topping Chiefs after missing the Blues game completely and playing a short stint off the bench against the Hurricanes the previous week.

There are two other changes in the starting line-up, both amongst the forwards with the backline remaining unchanged from last week’s win over the Blues.

Jacques Botes plays in his 96th Vodacom Super Rugby match for The Sharks in place of Marcell Coetzee who has carried an enormous workload this season, having started every match to date, and he gets a timely half-break from the attrition of rugby at this level.

The final change to the starting XV sees a straight rotational swap between Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel.

Young Pieter-Steph du Toit has been entrusted with the number 18 jersey, providing second row cover and he will certainly relish the opportunity of running at the opposition in what would be his senior debut. He comes in for Jandre Marais who has been named to captain The Sharks XV.

The Sharks to play the Chiefs are as follows:

1. Dale Chadwick, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 4. Steven Sykes, 5. Anton Bresler, 6. Jacques Botes, 7. Willem Alberts, 8. Keegan Daniel (Captain), 9. Charl McLeod, 10. Patrick Lambie, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 12. Tim Whitehead, 13. JP Pietersen, 14. Louis Ludik , 15. Riaan Viljoen.

16. Craig Burden, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Marcell Coetzee, 21. Frederic Michalak, 22. Meyer Bosman.

Related Posts

« »