2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees

Nov 26 • General News, International, New Zealand • 2160 Views • Comments Off on 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

After a successful season where they retained their number one world ranking for the fifth consecutive year the All Blacks dominate the nominations for the 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards.

The All Blacks are nominated for the adidas Team of the Year, Steve Hansen is in line for Coach of the Year, Richie McCaw, Brodie Retallick and Aaron Smith, are all nominated for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year.

Under Hansen’s guidance the All Blacks equalled the record of 17 consecutive victories by a major nation, secured a clean sweep in the Steinlager Series against England, won the Bledisloe Cup for a 12th year in a row and a third successive Investec Rugby Championship title and returned home undefeated from the MyRepublic Northern Tour.

Their success was recognised earlier this week by their international peers when they were named World Rugby Team of the Year; Hansen; Coach of the Year and Retallick; Player of the Year.

The All Blacks are joined as nominees for adidas Team of the Year by Auckland Storm who picked up their seventh straight Women’s Provincial Championship title, and this year’s ITM Cup Championship and Premiership winners, Manawatu Turbos and TenderLink Taranaki.

Taranaki’s fairy tale claim on their first ITM Cup Premiership title, coupled with the Maori All Blacks successful two match tour of Japan sees the coach of both teams; Colin Cooper receive a nod for Coach of the Year. Also recognised for propelling Tasman into their first ITM Cup premiership final is Makos coach Kieran Keane.

Jerome Kaino’s formidable return to top level rugby in this year’s Investec Super Rugby season along with stand-out Crusaders wing Nemani Nadolo, and the ever impressive Chief’s lock Brodie Retallick see all three receive well deserved nominations for the Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year.

The New Zealand Women’s Sevens team secured their second successive Women’s Sevens Series title this year, earning regular team members Sarah Goss, Kayla McAlister and Tyla Nathan-Wong nominations for Women’s Sevens Player of the Year.

The All Blacks Sevens won their fourth consecutive World Series title this year. Captain DJ Forbes was again the team’s lynchpin and along with Scott Curry earned spots in the IRB Sevens Dream Team of the Year. They, along with the 2013 IRB Sevens Player of the Year Tim Mikkelson, are nominated for the Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year.

The Steinlager Salver Award recognising a person’s exceptional contribution to New Zealand rugby will also be announced on the night.

The 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards will be held at the Viaduct Events Centre on Thursday, 11 December and broadcast on SKY Sport. See note below for details around the new arrangements for media wishing to cover the awards.

2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominations

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Mitchell Karpik
Damian McKenzie
Sio Tomkinson
Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Dean File
Mike Nitz
Trudie van Leeuwen-Cruthers
New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Jessica Beard
Nick Briant
Glen Jackson
Pink Batts Heartland Championship Player of the Year
Josh Clark
James Lash
Gary Redmond
New Zealand Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year
Sarah Goss
Kayla McAlister
Tyla Nathan-Wong
Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year
Scott Curry
DJ Forbes
Tim Mikkelson
Sky Television Fans Try of the Year
Beauden Barrett; Hurricanes v Highlanders
Malakai Fekitoa; Sharks v Highlanders
Alapati Leiua; Crusaders v Hurricanes
ITM Cup Player of the Year
Shane Christie
Nehe Milner-Skudder
Seta Tamanivalu
Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year
Jerome Kaino
Nemani Nadolo
Brodie Retallick
Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Liam Messam
Charlie Ngatai
Aaron Smith
New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year
Rawinia Everitt
Fiao’o Fa’amausili
Amiria Rule
New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year
Colin Cooper
Steve Hansen
Kieran Keane
adidas Team of the Year
All Blacks
Auckland Storm
Manawatu Turbos
TenderLink Taranaki
Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Richie McCaw
Brodie Retallick
Aaron Smith

Related Posts

« »