Adams opts for continuity

Sep 22 • General News • 1171 Views • Comments Off on Adams opts for continuity

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

DHL Western Province U19 coach, Nazeem Adams, has opted for continuity in the starting line-up ahead of the top-of-the-table clash with the Vodacom Blue Bulls U19, in Stellenbosch, on Friday.

Coming off an impressive 54-8 win against the Leopards last weekend that saw them climb to the top of the standings, Adams has made limited changes to the side as they now turn their attention to second-placed Vodacom Blue Bulls, in the final-round before the playoffs.

The only change to the starting backline, for a match which kicks off at 15h00 on Friday, sees Tumi Mogoje replace Nico Leonard in the No.14 jersey with the latter providing cover from the bench.

In the forward pack Cobus Wiese returns from his stint with the U21 side to reclaim his spot at No.5 lock, at the expense of Jordan Sesink-Clee, who is injured. Carlu Sadie also trades places Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, with the former moving off the bench to start at tight-head prop.

On the replacements bench, Etienne van Dyk and Carel Roux Swart will provide cover and Lambertus Smith misses out on selection.

Adams said that his team needs no motivation to face the Vodacom Blue Bulls.

“We need no motivation to face the Bulls because it’s always a big rivalry and it’s an important game for us to win and stay top of the log. The Bulls are right there behind us so this will be big for them too,” Adams said.

“We are ready and expect a big challenge because we beat them 18-17 away from home earlier in the season and they will want to respond well.”

DHL Western Province U19: 15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Tumi Mogoje, 13 John Lourens, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Ryan Muller, 10 Jordan Chait, 9 Jondre Williams, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Nama Xaba, 6 Johan Visser, 5 Cobus Wiese, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Shane Farmer, 1 Ricky Nwagbara.
Replacements: 16 Etienne van Dyk, 17 Roux Swart, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 David Meihuizen, 20 Thomas Meyer, 21 Brandon Salomo, 22 Damian Willemse, 23 Nico Leonard.

Related Posts

« »