Additions to SA U20 Trialists squad

Jan 14 • International, National, World Rugby • 1477 Views • Comments Off on Additions to SA U20 Trialists squad

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Spingbok emblemSA Under-20 coach Dawie Theron on Friday added DHL Western Province’s Sam Lane, Jaco van Tonder (The Sharks) and Bradley Moolman (Vodacom Blue Bulls) to his 39-man group for the SA Under-20 trials next week.

The three utility backs competed in last year’s Absa Under-19 and Under-21 Championships for their respective unions and comes into the squad as cover for the players who will not be attending the camp in Cape Town.

Lane, Van Tonder and Moolman will act as cover for the talented Grey College centre pairing of Jan Serfontein and Andries Swanepoel who will also not arrive with the rest of the group on Monday. Fullback Jaco Taute and winger Wandile Mjekevu will be absent on Vodacom Super Rugby duty with the Lions. Serfontein and Swanepoel remain in contention for selection for the final squad.

Theron also added promising SA Under-18 High Performance scrumhalf Kevin Luiters to the squad. The former Free State Under-18 scrumhalf who competed during last year’s Coca Cola Under-18 Craven Week takes the place of former SA Schools captain Pieter Rademan who was withdrawn from the Trials due to personal reasons.

The Under-20 trialists will be put through a series of trial games in preparation for the 2011 IRB Junior World Championship which takes place in Italy in June.

Updated SA Under-20 Trials and Training Squad:

Jaco van Tonder The Sharks
Ulrich Beyers Vodacom Blue Bulls
Riaan Britz Free State
Courtnall Skosana Vodacom Blue Bulls
Emil Schwarz The Sharks
Mandla Dube The Sharks
Francois Venter Vodacom Blue Bulls
Sam Lane DHL Western Province
Bradley Moolman Vodacom Blue Bulls
Paul Jordaan The Sharks
Piet Lindeque The Sharks
Heimar Williams The Sharks
Andries Swanepoel Free State
Jan Serfontein Free State
Jacobus Lourens Platinum Leopards
Garth April Golden Lions
Tony Jantjies Vodacom Blue Bulls
Ricky Schroeder DHL Western Province
Lohan Jacobs Vodacom Blue Bulls
Kevin Luiters Free State
Loose forwards
Arno Botha Vodacom Blue Bulls
Marcell Coetzee The Sharks
Siseko Jafta The Sharks
Cornell du Preez Platinum Leopards
Gabriel Strydom Platinum Leopards
Siya Kolisi DHL Western Province
Nizaam Carr DHL Western Province
Jean Cook Free State
Eben Etzebeth DHL Western Province
Wilhelm van der Slys DHL Western Province
Ruan Venter Golden Lions
Jose Julies Vodacom Blue Bulls
Mbongeni Mbonambi Vodacom Blue Bulls
Bernard Van Heerden Free State
Jacques Momberg Vodacom Blue Bulls
Bonga Ntubeni DHL Western Province
Juan Schoeman Vodacom Blue Bulls
Stephan Kotze Free State
Wiseman Kamanga Lions
Frans Malherbe DHL Western Province
Nicholas Schonert The Sharks
Moshudu Masela Platinum Leopards

Related Posts

« »