All Blacks team named for Dunedin Bledisloe Cup Test; Dane Coles returns for 50th Test

Aug 24 • General News, International • 832 Views • Comments Off on All Blacks team named for Dunedin Bledisloe Cup Test; Dane Coles returns for 50th Test

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The All Blacks team to play the Bledisloe Cup – Investec Championship match against Australia at Forsyth Barr Stadium on Saturday 26 August 2017 has been named.

The matchday 23 is (with Test caps in brackets):

1. Joe Moody (29)
2. Dane Coles (49)
3. Owen Franks (95)
4. Brodie Retallick (65)
5. Samuel Whitelock (89)
6. Liam Squire (10)
7. Sam Cane (45)
8. Kieran Read (101) – Captain
9. Aaron Smith (63)
10. Beauden Barrett (54)
11. Rieko Ioane (6)
12. Sonny Bill Williams (37)
13. Ryan Crotty (28)
14. Ben Smith (63)
15. Damian McKenzie (3)
16. Codie Taylor (20)
17. Kane Hames (1)
18. Ofa Tu’ungafasi (5)
19. Scott Barrett (8)
20. Ardie Savea (17)
21. TJ Perenara (34)
22. Lima Sopoaga (8)
23. Anton Lienert-Brown (14)

The matchday 23 features just three changes from last week’s team, all in the forwards. Hooker Dane Coles returns to the front row for what will be his 50th Test, with Codie Taylor moving to the bench.  Prop Kane Hames comes onto the bench replacing Wyatt Crockett, while Scott Barrett is the reserve lock, in for Luke Romano, who has a minor foot niggle.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said: “It’s been great to be back home in New Zealand and we’ve had a great week’s preparation here in Dunedin.  Whilst we were very happy with the way we played for periods of the game in the first Test, there were also moments where we weren’t so crash hot. However, this is a new week and we’re well aware that we’ll have to be better in all areas of our game, and we’ve concentrated on those areas we want to improve.  Once again, a good start will be important.”

Steve Hansen said the team was again looking forward to playing at Forsyth Barr Stadium: “Playing under the roof in Dunedin means we should see a high-speed game, which should suit both teams and create an entertaining match that fans won’t want to miss.  I know the team itself is looking forward to Saturday as it’s another opportunity to grow and develop as a group.”

To see Steve Hansen talk about the Test selection and build-up click here.

Key notes

* Tickets to the All Blacks Test are still available from The Bledisloe Cup match will kick off at 7.35PM NZT and will be broadcast in New Zealand LIVE and EXCLUSIVE on SKY Sport.

* Ben Smith scored his 17th try in the Rugby Championship last weekend.  He is now the second equal on the all-time Championship try-scoring list alongside Richie McCaw.  Springbok Bryan Habana has the record of 21.

* Lock Sam Whitelock will play his 90th Test this weekend.  28-year-old Whitelock is the most capped All Blacks lock of all time.

* The All Blacks have played Australia 159 times with 110 wins to the All Blacks, 42 to the Wallabies and seven draws.

* The All Blacks won The Rugby Championship in 2012 – 2014 and again in 2016, have held The Bledisloe Cup (played between New Zealand and Australia) since 2003 and The Freedom Cup (played between New Zealand and South Africa) since 2010.

Investec Rugby Championship

1. Australia 34 All Blacks 54. Saturday 19 August, ANZ Stadium, SYDNEY
2. vs. AUSTRALIA. Saturday 26 August, 7.35PM, Forsyth Barr Stadium, DUNEDIN
3. vs. ARGENTINA. Saturday 9 Sept, 7.35PM, Yarrow Stadium, NEW PLYMOUTH
4. vs. SOUTH AFRICA. Saturday 16 September, 7.35PM, QBE Stadium, AUCKLAND
5. vs. ARGENTINA. Sat 30 Sept, 7.30PM, Estadio José Amalfitani, BUENOS AIRES
6. vs. SOUTH AFRICA. Sat 7 October, 5.05PM, DHL Newlands, CAPE TOWN

Third Bledisloe Cup Test

1. vs. AUSTRALIA, Saturday 21 October, 8.05PM, Suncorp Stadium, BRISBANE

Related Posts

« »