All change as DHL WP Under 19s head to Loftus

Aug 28 • General News • 2043 Views • Comments Off on All change as DHL WP Under 19s head to Loftus

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

A much-changed DHL Western Province Under-19 side will head to Loftus Versfeld to take on the Blue Bulls Under-19s on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 13h00).

Having finished the first half of the season in first place on the 2014 Absa Provincial Under-19 standings, as the only unbeaten side in the competition, Nazeem Adams’s team will face a tough challenge in Pretoria.

Making their challenge even tougher, however, is that they will be without star centre Daniel du Plessis (shoulder) and ace scrumhalf Justin Phillips (ankle), whilst props Francois van der Merwe and Mihlali Mtongana are also out injured.

The return of Jarryd Sage, with Ryan Oosthuizen moving to inside centre, will go a long way towards making up for the loss of Du Plessis, whilst Brendon Nell is back in the No.9 shirt and WP Rugby Academy star Lebohang Mdakane will start at tighthead prop.

Coach Adams told “We’ve got a couple of injuries and have made quite a few changes, but, at the same time, we’re fortunate to have David Ribbans and Khanyo Ngcukana back on the bench after long-term injuries and then Brandon Thomson is looking forward to his first start at flyhalf in an unforced change.

“Ernst Stapelberg has not put a foot wrong in the No.10 jersey this year, but Brandon is an SA Schools flyhalf and although this is a big challenge it’s also a good opportunity to see what he can do.”

Fortunately the likes of Du Plessis, Phillips, Van der Merwe and Mtongana should be due back soon enough from their injuries, but Adams also had good news about other injured players.

“(Prop) Frans van Wyk and (wing) Leolin Zas should both be back after next week’s bye (week), which is great,” he said.

“Of course, we’re not looking further than this week, but it’s nice to know that we can put everything into this match and then have an extra week off afterwards.

“The Bulls will be determined to avenge their away loss to us, whereas I would like my team to lay down a marker at Loftus Versfeld. One never knows where the Under-19 (or Under-21) final could be played, so it’s important for the guys to get used to playing and winning at any venue – especially a tough place like Loftus.”

The DHL WP Under-19 team for Saturday (v Blue Bulls, away) is as follows:

15. Adriaan Carelse
14. Grant Hermanus
13. Jarryd Sage
12. Ryan Oosthuizen
11. Dewald Naude
10. Brandon Thomson
9. Brendon Nell
8. Rikus Bothma (captain)
7. Luke Stringer
6. Charlton Jonas
5. Floris Pelser
4. Johan Momsen
3. Lebohang Mdakane
2. Paul-Martin Wipplinger
1. Kyle Whyte

16. Hanno Snyman
17. Regardt Louw
18. Brett Paulse
19. David Ribbans
20. Dian Koen
21. Damian Stevens
22. Ernst Stapelberg
23. Khanyo Ngcukana

Referee: Eduan Nel

Related Posts

« »