Australia announces June Test Squad

May 27 • International, World Rugby • 1424 Views • Comments Off on Australia announces June Test Squad

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Rocky Elsom Flip vd Merwe

The Robbie Deans revolution continues in Australia, with seven new faces and no Phil Waugh named for the June Test squad.

Robbie Deans has called up seven uncapped players but Waugh has been overlooked for the 30-man party which kicks off a busy period with the June 5 Test against Fiji.

With long-serving flanker George Smith no longer a part of the Wallabies set-up, Waugh was the obvious choice to be a part of the squad, at least as back-up to the Western Force’s David Pocock.

The squad, which will again be led by Brumbies flanker Rocky Elsom, face Fiji, two Cook Cup Test matches against England, and a one-off Test against Ireland for the Lansdowne Cup next month.

Reds trio Saia Faingaa, Ben Daley and Laurie Weeks, Brumbies pair Huia Edmonds and Salesi Ma’afu, plus Matt Hodgson and Rob Horne are all in line for a Test debut in one of Australia’s ten Tests this season.

Injury means Deans is without the likes of Will Genia, Wycliff Palu, Benn Robinson and James Horwill but Stephen Hoiles has received a recall along with halfback Josh Valentine.

Experienced Waratahs prop Al Baxter was a surprise omission while Richard Kingi, Luke Morahan and Dave Dennis were all overlooked.

Australia June Test squad:

Forwards: Ben Alexander, Richard Brown, Mark Chisholm, Pek Cowan, Ben Daley, Huia Edmonds, Rocky Elsom, Saia Faingaa, Matt Hodgson, Stephen Hoiles, Salesi Ma’afu, Dean Mumm, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Nathan Sharpe, Laurie Weeks.

Backs: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Kurtley Beale, Luke Burgess, Quade Cooper, Will Genia, Matt Giteau, Rob Horne, Peter Hynes, Digby Ioane, Drew Mitchell, James O’Connor, Lachlan Turner, Josh Valentine.

[Info from Planet Rugby]

Related Posts

« »