Australia names Girls Rugby Sevens squad for 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games

Aug 7 • General News, International • 1664 Views • Comments Off on Australia names Girls Rugby Sevens squad for 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Australian Commonwealth Games Association is pleased to announce the Australian Girls Rugby Sevens squad nominated by the Australian Rugby Union for the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa in September.

Coach Dale Roberson has selected an exciting squad that boasts five Youth Olympic Games Gold Medallists – three of whom are contracted to the national Women’s Sevens program. Seven of the players are from Queensland, two from New South Wales and one player from the ACT, Western Australia and South Australia.

Roberson said: “It is a credit to the strength in depth of talent in the Women’s game that it wasn’t an easy to whittle the numbers down to 12. I’ve been impressed with the quality that all the players have shown across the various camps at Narrabeen since the initial squad was chosen – there is seriously healthy competition for starting spots.

“While we are using this tournament as a brilliant opportunity to expose the players to international competition, we have plenty of big-game experience in the squad which should stand us in good stead. I’m particularly looking forward to seeing Shanice Parker and Demi Hayes challenge themselves against some of the best girls in the world in their age groups.”

The Girls competition at the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games will take place at the Apia Park Sports Complex between Wednesday 9 September to Friday 11 September, featuring hosts Samoa, Canada, Fiji, Papua New Guinea and the Cook Island.

The Girls squad chosen for the competition were selected on the strength of performances at the 2015 National Youth Sevens Championships in March and subsequent training camps hosted at Sevens HQ in Narrabeen.

The ARU’s Sevens talent development and national teams program is valuably supported by the Australian Commonwealth Games Association’s (ACGA) 2015 NextGEN AUSComGames Squad program – assisting the next generation of national Rugby Sevens stars to attend and achieve at the 2018 and 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Click here for rights-free images of the players selected in the final squad for the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games.

Australian Girls Sevens squad for the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games in Apia, Samoa (in alphabetical order):
Shenae Ciesiolka (Utility) Westbrook, QLD
Dominique Du Toit (Back) Toowoomba, QLD
Eseta Fangaloka (Forward) Goodna, QLD
Jayme Fressard (Back) Watanobbi, NSW
Demi Hayes (Forward) Toowoomba, QLD
Taylor Mapusua (Forward) Banyo, QLD
Samantha Maxwell (Utility) Cootamundra, NSW / ACT Rugby
Raecene McGregor (Back) Yagoona, NSW
Shanice Parker (Utility) Yangebup, WA
Mackenzie Sadler (Utility) Kensington Park, SA
Emma Sykes (Back) Sippy Downs, QLD
Laura Waldie (Back) Camp Hill, QLD

Related Posts

« »