Australian squad for World Rugby U20 Championship named

May 11 • General News, International • 1284 Views • Comments Off on Australian squad for World Rugby U20 Championship named

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Australian U20’s Head Coach Adrian Thompson has today announced his squad for next month’s World Rugby U20 Championship in Italy.

After falling to New Zealand in the final of the Oceania Junior Rugby Championship on Saturday, the squad has been bolstered for the World Rugby U20 Championship with the return of RaboDirect Melbourne Rebels flier Jonah Placid.

The 28-man squad features strong Asteron Life Super Rugby and Qantas Australian Sevens experience with Placid being joined by Lolo Fakaosilea, Michael Gunn, Campbell Magnay and Adam Korcyzk from the Queensland Reds, Andrew Kellaway from the NSW Waratahs and Brad Wilkin from the Qantas Australian Sevens squad.

Despite being unavailable to play in the Oceania Rugby Junior Championship final with a hamstring injury, Wilkin will join the squad after being cleared by the Australian medical team.

Thompson offered his congratulations to the players selected:

“The Oceania Rugby Junior Championship provided a great Test for our squad and has given us an ideal preparation for the World Championship. “

“The return of our Super Rugby players adds key leadership and experience and we have strong depth across the squad.

The Australian side will reconvene at the Sydney Academy of Sport, Narrabeen to finalise preparations from Saturday 16 May, ahead of a May 25 departure for Italy.

Having placed fifth in the 2014 tournament Australia has drawn last year’s runners up, South Africa, alongside host nation Italy and Samoa in a tough Pool B. The young Aussies’ first match will be against Samoa on Tuesday 2 June.

Australian U20’s World Championship Squad:  

Cameron Orr West Harbour NSW
Folau Faingaa Sydney University NSW
Matthew Sandell Sydney University NSW
Ned Hanigan Randwick NSW
Olly Kamp Randwick NSW
Andrew Deegan Randwick NSW
Andrew Kellaway Randwick NSW
Alex Newsome Eastern Suburbs NSW
Lukhan Lealaiauloto-Tui Randwick NSW
Tyson Davis Warringah NSW
Sam Croke Randwick NSW
Conrad Quick Sunnybank QLD
Campbell Magnay GPS QLD
Aaron Pleash University of QLD QLD
Adam Korczyk University of QLD QLD
Lolo Fakaosilea Sunnybank QLD
Michael Gunn Easts QLD
Duncan Paia’aua GPS QLD
James Dalgleish University of QLD QLD
James Tuttle GPS QLD
Harry Nucifora Bond University QLD
Brad Wilkin Easts QLD
Connal McInerney Tuggeranong ACT
Tyrell Lomax Tuggeranong ACT
Riley Winter Wests Scarborough WA
Fereti Saaga Melbourne Uni VIC
Sione Tuipolotu Southern Districts VIC
Jonah Placid Melbourne Uni VIC

Related Posts

« »