Baby Boks team for Fiji clash

Jun 25 • BabyBoks U20, International, World Rugby Junior Championship • 1752 Views • Comments Off on Baby Boks team for Fiji clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Saturday, June 25, 2011

South Africa Under-20 coach Dawie Theron has named his team to take on Fiji in their playoff match for fifth position in the 2011 IRB Junior World Championship in Treviso which kicks off on Sunday at 14h10.

There are four changes made to the starting lineup from the team that defeated Ireland 57-17 in Padova on Wednesday. Theron maintained the same backline for the Baby Boks’ last match in the 23-day tournament that competed against Ireland.

The four changes are made to the forward pack with a new front row selected. Props Juan Schoeman and Jon Roy Jenkinson will partner hooker Bongi Mbonambi up front, while the other change to the starting 15 is that of flanker Nizaam Carr who comes in to the side in place of Francois Kleinhans who is relegated to the bench.

“Tomorrow’s clash is a final opportunity for the guys selected to show what they really are capable of doing,” said Theron.

“This team have shown plenty of promise and have played some entertaining rugby during parts of the tournament. We’ve scored the second most points in the tournament to date, and also the third most tries of all twelve teams after four matches.

“Unfortunately the flip side to that is there have been moments where we failed to maintain our composure and patience; and possibly that’s why we are playing for fifth tomorrow and not ending off for a higher position. In a tournament such as this, the margin for error is small, and I guess we have paid the price for not capitalizing on those scoring opportunities in the match against England.

“However we have Fiji tomorrow and I am hoping that the players make a strong statement. It’s the last opportunity this group of players will play together, so they owe it to themselves to end off with at least a convincing win on Sunday.”

South Africa U20 – Ulrich Beyers, Tshotsho Mbovane, Jaco Taute, Francois Venter, Wandile Mjekevu, Johan Goosen, Pieter Rademan, Arno Botha, Cornell du Preez, Nizaam Carr, Eben Etzebeth, Jean Cook, Jon Roy Jenkinson, Bongi Mbonambi, Juan Schoeman. Reserves: Michael van Vuuren, Nic Schonert, Carl Wegner, Francois Kleinhans, Lohan Jacobs, Paul Jordaan, Courtnall Skosan.

Issued by SARU Communications

Related Posts

« »