Balanced SA Select Women’s training squad named

Sep 27 • General News, National • 1985 Views • Comments Off on Balanced SA Select Women’s training squad named

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Eight players with national experience in 15s and sevens were named in the 28-member SA Select Women’s training squad for a 12-day training camp starting in Stellenbosch on Friday, as the side prepares to travel to England in October for the first national tour since the Women’s Rugby World Cup in 2014.  

The camp, which will be hosted at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport, will run until Wednesday, 11 October, with a squad of 26 players departing for London that evening where they will play two matches against the England Academy team and one against the British Army.  

SA Rugby’s acting High Performance manager Louis Koen will take charge of the camp until the SA Select head and assistant coaches are confirmed.  

Capped Springbok Women’s Sevens players Zinhle Ndawonde and Rights Mkhari, who recently returned from Tunisia where they assisted in the team qualification for the Rugby World Cup Sevens, and SA Select Women’s Sevens player Unathi Mali were included in the group. 

The squad also included a handful of Springbok Women’s 15-a-side players who participated in the 2014 World Cup in France, namely Asithandile Ntoyanto, Nosiphiwo Goda, Thantaswa Macingwana, Nolusindiso Booi and Celeste Adonis. 

The remainder of the squad is made up of players who starred in the SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial Competition and Youth Training Centre (YTC) players.

Another capped Bok Women’s Sevens player Eloise Webb (back) and 2014 World Cup fullback Tayla Kinsey (hip) were forced to withdraw from the squad due to injury.  

Given their success in the Women’s Interprovincial Series this season, champions Western Province, and runners up, Border, accounted for the most players in the squad with 10 each.  

SA Rugby also named a squad of 29 Under-18 players and 28 Under-20 players, who will participate in a training camp in Paarl from Sunday, 1 October, to Friday 6 October, with Western Province and Border also making up the biggest complement of players. The camp will be guided by the SA Rugby Women’s Youth Training Centre (YTC) coaches.  

“We are excited to re-introduce 15-a-side rugby on a national level after turning our focus to development through the introduction of the Youth Training Centres in the last few years,” said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux.  

“It is clear in both of these squads that quality players are coming through the YTC structures, thanks to the skills programmes, improved fitness and conditioning, and regular training sessions. 

“That said, we are realistic about our expectations in what will mark the first 15-a-side ladies tour in three years against quality opposition. I wish the players luck as they stake a claim for places in the squad.” 


SA Select Women’s training squad (in alphabetical order):

Celeste Adonis (lock), Western Province

Nolusindiso Booi (lock), Border

Thuliswa Capa (prop), Border

Xolelwa Diliza (hooker), Border

Lusanda Dumke (flank), Border

Annique Geswind (hooker), Western Province

Nosiphiwo Goda (wing), Border

Aseza Hele (No 8), Eastern Province

Felicia Jacobs (scrumhalf), Western Province

Abigail Jantjies (hooker), Golden Lions

Charmaine Kayser (No 8), Western Province

Amy-Kay Klaasen (lock), Western Province

Babalwa Latsha (prop), Western Province

Thantaswa Macingwane (prop), Border

Kamohele Makoele (flank), Free State

Ncediswa Mahijani (prop), Western Province

Unathi Mali (wing), Border

Vuyolwethu Maqholo (flyhalf), Western Province

Sinazo Mcatshulwa (flank), Western Province

Rights Mkhari (lock), Limpopo Blue Bulls

Katlego Moremi (prop), Blue Bulls

Zinhle Ndawonde (centre), KZN

Aphiwe Ngwevu (centre), Border

Asithandile Ntoyanto (prop), Border

Moyagabo Ramoraswi (wing), Limpopo Blue Bulls

Snenhlanhla Shozi (fullback), Border

Buhlebethu Sonamzi (flank), Eastern Province

Thandi Xwetu (hooker), Western Province


SA Rugby High Performance U18 squad (in alphabetical order):

Sihle Bokoda (scrumhalf), SWD

Roseline Botes (hooker), Western Province

Saniliswe Charlie (prop), Eastern Province

Marizelle Cornelius (centre), Blue Bulls

Edwaline Dickson (No 8), SWD

Antoneca Hannies (fullback), SWD

Anelca Hess (flyhalf), Boland

Olwethu Kasibe (lock), Eastern Province

Andonesia Kietas (prop), SWD

Caryn Klaasen (wing), Western Province

Margareth Lamani (No 8), Boland

Nqatyiswa Lufutha (wing), Border

Nothando Majozi (scrumhalf), KZN

Caroline Maluleke (prop), Blue Bulls

Mihlali Mgweba (lock), Border

Annelisiwe Mxabo (flank), Western Province

Sakhe Mxhalisi (wing), Border

Zoe Naude (flyhalf), Western Province

Thembeka Ndlovu (prop), KZN

Sune Pawson (flyhalf), Blue Bulls

Caronne Petersen (flank), Western Province

Chuma Qawe (centre), Border

Chumisa Qawe (centre), Border

Shoneez Sabatini (lock), Western Province

Keshia Stuurman (flank), Boland

Eldorette Tieties (hooker), Boland

Janome van Slicht (scrumhalf), Boland

Maxine Valentine (flank), Boland

Connor-Leigh Witbooi (centre), Boland


SA Rugby High Performance U20 squad (in alphabetical order):

Abigail Beukes (prop), Western Province

Laverne Coenraad (wing), Eastern Province

Tyler-Jane Coleman (prop), KZN

Micaela Deeb (flank), Griquas

Nellodene De Wee (centre), Griquas

Maxine Engelbrecht (No 8), Griquas

Shaunique Hess (centre), Western Province

Alana-Lee Horne (fullback), Western Province

Sibabalwe Klaas (centre), Eastern Province

Zandile Patricia Khumalo (No 8), Golden Lions

Zandile Maduna (fullback), Blue Bulls

Gift Magagula (hooker), Pumas

Lerato Makua (flank), Blue Bulls

Ayanda Malinga (prop), Pumas

Anastacia Mashiane (flank), Limpopo Blue Bulls

Nompumelelo Mathe (lock), KZN

Monica Mazibukwana (hooker), Eastern Province

Bianca Meyer (centre), Blue Bulls

Buhle Mrkabalala (centre), Leopards

Lihle Mzimkhulu (flank), Western Province

Nolukholo Mzwali (prop), Eastern Province

Simamnkele Namba (fullback), Border

Owethu Nayiphi (hooker), Border

Siphumle Ngqose (No 8), Western Province

Yonela Ngxingolo (prop), Border

Siyanda Pikoli (lock), Eastern Province

Leandi Smith (wing), Western Province

Mpho Swarts (lock), Griffons


Related Posts

« »