Oct 8 • General News • 2583 Views • Comments Off on BIG MOTIVATION FOR SHARKS JUNIOR SIDES

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The junior teams of the Cell C Sharks go into the final round of their respective Absa age group competitions with more than just academic interest riding on the outcome of their matches against the Free State sides.

The Cell C Sharks Under 21s cannot finish any lower than third on the log, but a win against Free State – who are in second place, four points clear – could leave them leap-frogging the Bloemfontein-based side.

The motivation for a home semi-final next weekend is huge, but they must first overcome their Free State counterparts by scoring a bonus point victory and preventing their opponents from picking up any log points.

The Under 21s lost to Free State in their first round clash in Durban and while revenge is always a bad motivator, certainly the carrot on a stick offers plenty of incentive to reverse the first round result; if nothing else, to gain a measure of confidence for the semi-final, when the two sides will meet again.

For the Under 19s, this has not been a season to savour, although the learning has been unrelenting as the young men make the transition from schoolboy rugby into a professional sporting environment.

They have shown snatches of great ability and exciting skill over the course of the season and what better way to show their worth than to deliver a final performance to enhance their reputations?

They can take heart from their first round, 17-all draw with the opportunity to end the season on top against traditionally one of the strongest provinces at age group level.


Under 19 Under 21
Christopher Lines 15 Riaan O’neill
S’busiso Nkosi 14 Neil Maritz
Tristan Blewett 13 Nkululeko Marwana
Alwayno Visagie 12 Marius Louw (Capt)
Brent Christoffels 11 Sipho Mkhize
Tristan Tedder 10 Inny Christian Radebe
Jaywinn Juries 9 Rowan Gouws
Erich Kankowski 8 Ayron Schramm
Rikus Zwart 7 Retief Marais
Bernadus Haring 6 Graham Geldenhuys
Rowan Coetzer 5 Hyron Andrews
Christiaan van der Merwe 4 Jean Droste
Johnathan Vorster 3 Ruan Kramer
Bradley Roberts 2 Andrew du Plessis
Christopher Klopper 1 Barend Potgieter
Kabelo Motloung 16 Kerron van Vuuren
Wentzel Vorster 17 Johan Erasmus
Nicolas Ihlenfeldt 18 Mthunzi Moloi
Duncan MacDonald 19 Wian Vosloo
Willem Badenhorst 20 Sias Koen
Tanner Dunnett 21 Jacques Fick
Divan Fick 22 Sandile Kubeka
Duran Krummeck 23

– See more at:

Related Posts

« »