Blues team announced to face the Chiefs

Jul 11 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 1973 Views • Comments Off on Blues team announced to face the Chiefs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Blues head coach SirJohn Kirwanhas made four changes to his starting XV for Saturday night’s final game of the season against the Chiefs at Eden Park (kick-off 7.35pm).


All Black flanker Steven Luatua has been ruled out of action with a shoulder injury and will be replaced by Kane Barrett.


104 Test veteran Keven Mealamu will start at hooker in place of James Parsons, while his All Black teammate Piri Weepu has overcome a rib injury to replace Jamison Gibson-Park at halfback.


Rene Ranger shifts from the wing to his preferred position of centre, giving New Zealand Under-20 star Lolagi Visinia the opportunity to make his Blues debut on the left flank.


Peter Saili is currently sick and has been bracketed with Brendon O’Connor at number eight.


This will be Blues captain and centurion Ali Williams’ last game for the franchise along with Rene Ranger and Anthony Boric who are all heading overseas at the end of the season.


Kirwan said the Blues were out to finish the season on a high and salvage some pride with one final effort againstNew Zealandfront runners the Chiefs.


“It’s about pride for us,” Kirwan said.


“We’ve had a season that we expected and I think if we can finish with a great performance then it’s been a real step in the right direction to put this franchise back on track.


“We all would have loved to have make the playoffs or been in contention this week; that hasn’t happened but we’ve played some great football and we’re heading in the right direction so we need to go out there and play for pride and show people that we are a force to be reckoned with going forward.”


The Blues team to face the Chiefs atEdenParkon Saturday night (kick-off 7.35pm) is:


Curtain raiser: New Zealand Black Ferns v England, kick-off 5.05pm


Starting XV


15. Charles Piutau

14. Frank Halai

13. Rene Ranger

12. Francis Saili

11. Lolagi Visinia


9. Piri Weepu

8. Peter Saili / Brendon O’Connor

7. Luke Braid

6. Kane Barrett

5. Ali Williams

4. Anthony Boric

3. Angus Ta’avao

2. Keven Mealamu

1. Sam Prattley




16. James Parsons

17. Ofa Tu’ungafasi

18. Liaki Moli

19. Brendon O’Connor / Sean Polwart

20. Jamison Gibson-Park

21. Jackson Willison

22. Marty McKenzie

Related Posts

« »