BMW Australia U20s Squad named for Oceania Rugby U20s Championship

Apr 18 • General News, International • 1692 Views • Comments Off on BMW Australia U20s Squad named for Oceania Rugby U20s Championship

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The BMW Australia U20s squad has been named for the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship at Bond University on the Gold Coast later this month.

Head Coach Simon Cron has selected a squad of 29 that will face Samoa, Fiji and New Zealand with one eye on the World Rugby U20s Championship in Georgia this June.

Players currently unavailable for selection due to Super Rugby or Australian Sevens commitments include Sham Vui (Western Force), Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Rebels), Esei Haangana (Melbourne Rebels), Izaia Perese (Queensland Reds), Sione Tuipulotu (Melbourne Rebels), Liam McNamara (Aussie 7s), Henry Hutchison (Aussie 7s), Simon Kennewell (Aussie 7s) and Lachlan Anderson (Aussie 7s).

Australia will be looking to win the Championship for the first time, having competed in the tournament since 2015. In 2016, Australia U20s defeated New Zealand in a thrilling match to level the series at 1-1; the first time Australia had defeated New Zealand at U20s level.

BMW Australia U20s Head Coach, Simon Cron said: “We had a very short National Camp last week and have coached some of the basic areas we need to do well to be successful. As a squad, we had a chance to work on some cohesiveness in our ball skills and talk about key fundamentals around which we will base our attack and defensive systems.”

“We’ll head into camp on the Gold Coast on Tuesday 25 April and we need to continue on from where we left off. We have to keep building on the boy’s rugby brains as well as the tactical and technical coaching.”

“There are some great boys in the group and I am looking forward to working with them more in detail over the coming weeks.”

The Australian Squad is subject to change depending on Super Rugby requirements leading into the tournament.

2017 Oceania Rugby U20s Championship Fixtures:
Round 1, Friday 28 April
New Zealand v Fiji, 5.00pm AEST
Australia v Samoa, 7.00pm AEST
Round 2, Tuesday 2 May
New Zealand v Samoa, 3.00pm AEST
Australia v Fiji, 5.00pm AEST
Round 3, Saturday 6 May
Samoa v Fiji, 5.00pm AEST
Australia v New Zealand, 7.00pm AEST

All matches will be played at Bond University’s Rugby Fields on the Gold Coast.

Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW
Harry Chapman, NSW
Vaauli Faamausili, Victoria
Dan Matthew, NSW

Tom Horton, NSW
Efi Maafu, Queensland
Sama Malolo, Western Australia

Harry Hockings, Queensland
Angus Blyth, Queensland
Ryan McCauley, NSW
Darcy Swain, ACT

Lachlan Swinton, NSW
Angus Scott-Young, Queensland
Reece Hewat, Queensland
Liam Wright, Queensland
Angus Allen, ACT

Harry Nucifora, Queensland
Ryan Lonergan, ACT
Theo Strang, NSW

Hamish Stewart, Queensland
Jack McGregor, Victoria

Tony Hunt, Queensland
Nick Jooste, ACT
Dylan Riley, Queensland
Len ikitau, ACT

James Ramm, NSW
Jayden Ngamanu, Queensland

Semisi Tupou, Victoria
Jack Maddocks, Victoria

Related Posts

« »