BMW Australian Schoolboys Team named as ACT win Championship

Jul 10 • General News, International • 915 Views • Comments Off on BMW Australian Schoolboys Team named as ACT win Championship

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

ACT has won the 2017 Australian Schools Championship with an impressive performance that saw them defeat QLD II, 30-11 in the final at St Ignatius College, Riverview in Sydney.

It is the first time since 1988 that ACT have won the title and only the fourth time in the Championship’s 42-year history. ACT’s victory in the final capped off a strong tournament from the squad who were impressive throughout the four days of competition.

In the third-place play-off, Queensland I held off NSW I in a thrilling 29-24 contest. Combined Schools delivered an upset over NSW II to take out fifth place with their 22-12 victory, while WA finished their tournament in seventh after a solid 48-17 triumph over Victoria.

BMW Australian Schoolboys Head Coach Pat Langtry said: “The final was a quality game where ACT showed they were the best side at the tournament. They came in prepared with a good understanding of how they needed to play at that level to win and they reaped the rewards.

“In terms of Australian Schoolboys selections, it was great to see players and teams improve throughout the tournament, and although both Queensland I and NSW I both experienced some disappointment in their results, we saw players improve from those disappointments and really show their potential.

“With the upcoming games against Fiji Schools and NZ Schools, we know they will be up to the mark in all components of the game and will threaten in all components of the game, so we’ll have to have a good preparation and planning period to match them.”

2017 Australian Schools Championship results:
Final: ACT 30-11 QLD II
3rd Place Play-off: QLD I 29-24 NSW I
5th Place Play-off: Combined High Schools 22-12 NSW II
7th Place Play-off: Western Australia 48-17 Victoria

Australian Schoolboys Preliminary Squads
Please note that these squads will be finalized closer to the upcoming fixtures as some players are not currently available for selection.  

BMW Australian Schoolboys Squad
Bo  Abra (NSW I) – St Stanislaus College
Angus Bell (NSW II) – Newington College
Darcy Breen  (NSW I) – The Scots College
Lachlan Connors (QLD II) – St Patrick’s College
Ben Donaldson  (NSW I) – Waverley College
Nick Frost (NSW I) – Knox Grammar School
Albert Hopoate (NSW I) – St Augustine’s College
Trevor Hosea  (QLD I) – Brisbane Boys College
Ciaran Loh (NSW I) – The King’s School
Noah Lolesio  (QLD I) – The Southport School
Lachlan Lonergan (ACT) – Trinity Christian College
Luca Moretti (NSW I) – Waverley College
Jordan Petaia (QLD I) – Brisbane State High School
Charlie Rorke (NSW I) – St Ignatius College, Riverview
Seamus Smith (ACT) – Marist College
Carlo Tizzano (WA) – Trinity College
Josh Vuta (QLD II) – Somerset College
Harry Wilson (QLD I) – St Josephs College Gregory Terrace
Thomas Woodcock (NSW I) –  Knox Grammar School
Finn Wright (NSW II) – Waverley College

Australian Schoolboys Barbarians Squad
Moses Alo-Emile (QLD I) – Brisbane State High School
Oliver Barden (VIC) – Brighton Grammar School
Marco Bell (NSW II) – Waverley College
Max Douglas (NSW I) – St Augustine’s College
Max Dowd (QLD I) – The Southport School
Apenisa Driti (NSW I) – Griffith High School
William Goddard (ACT) – St Edmund’s College
Kohan Herbert (QLD II) – Downlands College
Phoenix Hunt (QLD I) – St Joseph’s College Nudgee
Tom Iles (ACT) – Marist College
Brendan Jiminez (ACT) – St Edmund’s College
Tom Kibble (QLD I) – Brisbane Boys College
William Lloyd (NSW I) – Barker College
Brody MacAskill (WA) – Aranmore Catholic College
Cullen Ngamanu (QLD I) – Brisbane Boys College
Lachlan Osborne (ACT) – Canberra Grammar School
Campbell Parata (QLD I) – The Southport School
Alex Sa’aga (VIC) – Melbourne Grammar School
Egan Siggs (QLD I) – The Southport School
Jack Winchester (Combined States) – Bishop Druitt College
Tom Yassmin (NSW II) – The Scot’s College

Upcoming Australian Schoolboys Fixtures
Monday Oct 2
Australia Barbarians Schools v NZ Schools
BMW Australian Schoolboys v Fiji Schools

Saturday Oct 7
Australia Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools
BMW Australian Schoolboys v NZ Schools

Related Posts

« »