Three Boks back for Blue Bulls

Aug 24 • National • 2019 Views • Comments Off on Three Boks back for Blue Bulls

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Wynand Olivier captured on camera by Hilton Kotze

Wynand Olivier captured on camera by Hilton Kotze

The Vodacom Blue Bulls welcomes back Springbok midfielder, Wynand Olivier, to their side for Friday’s Absa Currie Cup clash against the Pumas in Nelspruit.

Olivier is part of the Springbok Tri-Nations group, but was released by management for this match and will play in his first Currie Cup match of the season.

He has 44 Currie Cup caps for the Blue Bulls since making his debut against Griquas in 2005 and has scored 16 tries so far.

He is one of three Springboks released to the Blue Bulls.

Zane Kirchner and Dewald Potgieter are the others who saw action during the Tri-Nations series.

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach, Frans Ludeke, made a number of changes to the side that played against Griquas last weekend.

Five of them are in the backline.

Kirchner, who recovered from a knee strain, is back at fullback, Olivier plays in the midfield and Hayden Groepes will return to the left wing berth. Francois Brummer and Dustin Jinka is the new halfback combination.

John Mametsa and Stefan Watermeyer is dropped altogether, with Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Jacques-Louis Potgieter and Ruan Snyman picked as substitutes.

Up front, two changes have been made, with Gerrit-Jan van Velze not available due to a leg injury.

Potgieter plays at number eight and Wilhelm Steenkamp again swop places with Fudge Mabeta, who moves back to the bench.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls team to play Pumas in Nelspruit on Friday August 27th 2010 at 19h10 is:

15. Zane Kirchner, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Jaco Pretorius, 12. Wynand Olivier, 11. Hayden Groepes, 10. Francois Brummer, 9. Dustin Jinka, 8. Dewald Potgieter, 7. CJ Stander, 6. Derick Kuün (Capt), 5. Juandré Kruger, 4. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Bandise Maku, 1. Dean Greyling.

Replacements: 16. Henry Bantjes, 17. Frik Kirsten, 18. Fudge Mabeta, 19. Okkie Kruger, 20. Ruan Snyman, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. Jaco van der Westhuyzen.

Related Posts

« »