Boks make five changes for Namibia clash

Sep 19 • International, Rugby World Cup News, RWC 2011, Springbok News, Springboks • 2197 Views • Comments Off on Boks make five changes for Namibia clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Springboks on Tuesday made five changes to the starting line-up for their Rugby World Cup Pool D match against southern African neighbours Namibia at North Harbour Stadium, Auckland, on Thursday.

Wing Gio Aplon, scrumhalf Francois Hougaard, utility forward Willem Alberts and tighthead prop CJ van der Linde were all given their first starts of the tournament while Bryan Habana was recalled from injury to resume in the No 11 jersey.

Four players were unavailable for selection due to injury, while Springbok coach Peter de Villiers opted to bring in fresh legs in the hope of sustaining the team’s momentum. Locks Victor Matfield and Johann Muller, centre Jean de Villiers and flyhalf Butch James were not considered for the match.

Scrumhalf Fourie du Preez and flanker Heinrich Brüssow both dropped to the bench while wings JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis were rested all together. In one other change on the bench, Chiliboy Ralepelle was included in a match 22 for the first time when he was drafted in for Bismarck du Plessis, who is also rested.

Thursday’s match kicks off at 20h00 (10h00 SA time).

South Africa v Namibia, 22 September 2011, North Harbour Stadium, Auckland

15 Pat Lambie
14 Gio Aplon
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Frans Steyn
11 Bryan Habana
10 Morné Steyn
9 Francois Hougaard
8 Pierre Spies
7 Schalk Burger
6 Willem Alberts
5 Danie Rossouw
4 Bakkies Botha
3 CJ van der Linde
2 John Smit (captain)
1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle
17 Tendai Mtawarira
18 Francois Louw
19 Heinrich Brüssow
20 Fourie du Preez
21 Ruan Pienaar
22 Juan de Jongh

Related Posts

« »