Brad Thorn To Start His 100th Super Rugby Match Against The Sharks In Dunedin

May 2 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 4122 Views • Comments Off on Brad Thorn To Start His 100th Super Rugby Match Against The Sharks In Dunedin

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Brad Thorn will run out onto Forsyth Barr Stadium for his 100th Super Rugby appearance tomorrow night.

He joins fellow Highlander Chris King who also reached this significant milestone in 2013.


Thorn made his Super Rugby debut for the Crusaders in 2001 and played 92 games for the red & blacks

up until the end of 2011. Thorn linked with the Highlanders in 2013 and he joins a small and illustrious

group of centurions, with only Anton Oliver (127 games), Jimmy Cowan (108), Tony Brown (108)

and Chris King (102) also to reach the milestone while playing for the southern franchise.


Highlanders’ Head Coach Jamie Joseph said of Thorn: “Brad is a great player who brings a work ethic like no other. He’s a natural leader within our environment, and he has added a massive amount to our leadership group this season”.


Highlanders Chief Executive Roger Clark said: “On behalf of the Highlanders franchise, and all those who support Brad, we offer our congratulations on achieving 100 Super Rugby games. He brings up this milestone in a Highlanders jersey with his family in attendance, which is special for all of us”.


Jamie Joseph has made four changes to the starting team that played the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday 20 April. The Highlanders forward pack remains unchanged from the eight that started against the Crusaders. In the backs, Colin Slade starts at 10 and Hayden Parker moves back to the reserves. Ma’a Nonu has been ruled out through injury, bringing Shaun Treeby back into the starting XV in his place. Tamati Ellison makes a long awaited return from a shoulder injury and he will start at centre. Phil Burleigh will start on the right wing.


Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin – Saturday 4 May, 7.35pm (NZ Time).

1. Tony Woodcock

2. Andrew Hore (captain)

3. Chris King

4. Brad Thorn

5. Josh Bekhuis

6. Jarrad Hoeata

7. John Hardie

8. TJ Ioane

9. Aaron Smith

10. Colin Slade

11. Hosea Gear (vice-captain)

12. Shaun Treeby

13. Tamati Ellison

14. Phil Burleigh

15. Ben Smith


16. Liam Coltman

17. Ma’afu Fia

18. Elliot Dixon

19. Joe Wheeler

20. Fumiaka Tanaka

21. Hayden Parker

22. Jason Emery


Injury Update:

Brayden Mitchell (shoulder – 2 weeks), Kade Poki (ribs – 3 weeks), Ma’a Nonu (knee 2-3 weeks), Buxton Popoalii (ankle – 4 week), Lima Sopoaga (ankle – 4 weeks) & Mose Tuiali’i (knee – 1 week).


Head Coach – Jamie Joseph. Assistant Coach – Scott McLeod, Assistant Coach – Jon Preston, Scrum Coach – Kees Meeuws. Manager – Graham Purvis

Related Posts

« »