Brumbies team to play NSW Waratahs in Wagga

Feb 4 • General News, Super Rugby • 1168 Views • Comments Off on Brumbies team to play NSW Waratahs in Wagga

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named a side featuring seven internationals for the Aquis Brumbies first match of 2016, this Saturday’s trial against the NSW Waratahs in Wagga Wagga.

Wallabies representatives Matt Toomua, Tevita Kuridrani, Joe Tomane, Ben Alexander, Sam Carter and Josh Mann-Rea will all get valuable game time against old foes the Waratahs. Toomua, Alexander, Carter and Mann-Rea will start the match while try-scoring machines Tomane and Kuridrani have been named as replacements.

Toomua will start at flyhalf outside Argentine international Tomás Cubelli who will be making his first appearance for the Brumbies in Saturday’s match. Fans will get their first opportunity to see what the 45-time Los Pumas representative will bring to the Brumbies after signing a two-year deal with the club.

Former Queensland Reds players Aidan Toua (fullback) and Albert Anae (reserve) and Extended Playing Squad members Robbie Abel, Michael Wells and schoolboy sensation Nick Jooste will also be running out for the Brumbies for the first time. Andrew Smith will return to Brumbies colours for the first time since 2014, starting at outside centre.

Standout players from the ACT local competition, the John I Dent Cup, will also feature in the match, including exciting youngster Jordan Jackson-Hope who will start at inside centre. Jackson-Hope, a former Australian Schoolboy, will feature in the Brumbies U20 side in 2016 and has worked closely with the Brumbies senior squad throughout the off-season.

Larkham has named a 31-man squad for the match which is expected to be played in front of a near capacity crowd at Wagga’s McDonalds Park at 7pm on Saturday night. Tickets are still available via Eventopia.

Aquis Brumbies v NSW Waratahs – Saturday 6 February 2016, Wagga Wagga

Allan Alaalatoa
Josh Mann-Rea
Ben Alexander
Tom Staniforth
Sam Carter
Jordan Smiler
Jarrad Butler
Ita Vaea
Tomás Cubelli
Matt Toomua
Nigel Ah Wong
Jordan Jackson-Hope
Andrew Smith
Lausii Taliauli
Aidan Toua

Albert Anae
Robbie Abel
Leslie Leuluai’ali’i-Makin
Ruan Smith
Rory Arnold
Blake Enever
Ben Hyne
Michael Wells
Joe Powell
Michael Dowsett
Nick Jooste
Joe Tomane
Jake Rakic
Tevita Kuridrani
James Dargaville
Isaac Thompson

Courtesy of the Brumbies

Related Posts

« »