Oct 24 • Australia, General News • 1621 Views • Comments Off on BUILDCORP NRC – SEMI-FINAL: MELBOURNE RISING v PERTH SPIRIT

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Perth Spirit is preparing for their semi-final clash with the Melbourne Rising this Saturday, 25 October in the inaugural Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC).

Last time they met in Round Four, the Rising took the spoils, 44-24, and the Spirit will be out to break the Melbourne side’s unbeaten run.

There has been three changes made to the Spirit’s forward pack with the injection of the Western Force’s Pek Cowan, Sam Wykes and Brynard Stander into the front, second and back-row respectively.

In the backs, Ian Prior and Zack Holmes renew their halves combination while Marcel Brache and Luke Morahan come onto the wings. Solomoni Rasolea joins Ammon Matuauto in the centres and Dane Haylett-Petty has been named at fullback.

The Rising has made just two changes to their starting side with flanker OJ Noa making his debut and Rebels centre Sefanaia Naivalu returning from a hand injury to take on the outside centre role.

The match will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 3 and 3HD with coverage commencing from 12.30pm (AWST).

Melbourne Rising v Perth Spirit
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Saturday, 25 October, 2014
Time: 3.35pm (local)/12.35pm (AWST)
Coverage: Live from 12.30pm (AWST) on Fox Sports 3 and 3HD
Live match updates available on Twitter (@PerthSpirit) with half-time/full-time scores available on Facebook (
Weather Forecast: Min: 15C Max: 21C Cloudy. Slight (30%) chance of drizzle in the morning. Winds southerly 15 to 25 km/h.
Official Twitter hashtag: #MELvPER

Melbourne Rising: 1. Toby Smith, 2. Pat Leafa, 3. Paul Alo-Emile, 4. Sam Jeffries, 5. Cadeyrn Neville, 6. OJ Noa, 7. Sione Taufa, 8. Lopeti Timani, 9. Nic Stirzaker, 10. Jack Debreczeni, 11. Joe Kamana, 12. Mitch Inman, 13. Sefanaia Naivalu, 14. Rennie Lautolo-Molimau, 15. Jonah Placid. Reserves 16. Tome Sexton, 17. Fereti Sa’aga, 18. Cruze Ah-Nau, 19. Pom Simona, 20. Angus Hamilton, 21. Luke Burgess, 22. Lloyd Johansson, 23. Martin Naufahu

Perth Spirit: 1. Pek Cowan (Wests Scarborough), 2. Robbie Abel (Cottesloe), 3. Oliver Hoskins (Cottesloe), 4. Sam Wykes (Wests Scarborough), 5. Brent Murphy (Perth Bayswater), 6. Brynard Stander (Nedlands), 7. Kane Koteka (Wests Scarborough), 8. Alex Rovira (Associates), 9. Ian Prior (Nedlands), 10. Zack Holmes (Associates), 11. Marcel Brache (Perth Bayswater), 12. Solomoni Rasolea (Cottesloe), 13. Ammon Matuauto (Associates), 14. Luke Morahan (Kalamunda), 15. Dane Haylett-Petty (Cottesloe) Reserves 16. Harry Scoble (UWA), 17. Joe Savage (Palmyra), 18. Chris Heiberg (Perth Bayswater), 19. Kieran Stringer (Cottesloe), 20. Richard Hardwick (UWA), 21. Justin Turner (Associates), 22. Davis Tavita (Nedlands) 23. Christian Joubert (UWA)

Referee: Will Houston

Related Posts

« »