Oct 17 • Australia, General News • 1702 Views • Comments Off on BUILDCORP NRC – WEEK 9: NSW COUNTRY EAGLES v PERTH SPIRIT

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Finals are on the line when the Perth Spirit takes on the NSW Country Eagles in Dubbo on Saturday, 18 October.

The Spirit currently sits fourth on the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC) ladder and will secure a finals berth with victory over the Eagles on Saturday. However, the Perth side can still make the finals should they not win on Saturday, but would rely on a favourable result by Brisbane City over the UC Vikings.

The Spirit’s forward pack will see some new faces this week with Chris Heiberg and Richard Hardwick elevated from the bench into the front and back rows respectively while Corey Thomas makes his return from a shoulder injury at lock.

Scrumhalf Justin Turner and centre Ammon Matuauto come into the side while Va’a’ Mailei and Cook Islands Sevens representative Koiatu Koiatu will form a new combination on the wings. Wanneroo’s Koiatu will make his debut for the side while UWA’s Cian O’Connor is set to earn his first cap off the bench

The Eagles have included Waratahs, Stephen Hoiles and Brendan McKibbin, in their starting side.

Round Nine will be recognised as Mental Health Round with Buildcorp working together with the Rugby Union Players Association (RUPA) and state unions to raise $50,000 in funds for the Buildcorp Charitable Fund to assist Lifeline’s Online Crisis Support Chat.

Volunteers will be collecting donations at Caltex Park on Saturday evening and at all Buildcorp NRC matches in Round Nine and further donations can be made here.

NSW Country Eagles v Perth Spirit
Caltex Park, Dubbo
Saturday,18 October, 2014
Time: 6pm (local)/3pm (AWST)
Live match updates available on Twitter (@PerthSpirit) with half-time/full-time scores available on Facebook (
Weather Forecast: Min: 7C Max: 26C Sunny. Winds easterly 15 to 20 km/h becoming light before dawn.
Official Twitter hashtag: #EAGvPER

NSW Country Eagles: 1. Duncan Chubb, 2. Bill Johnston, 3. Jake Illnicki, 4. Ben Matwijow, 5. Richard Stanford, 6. Tala Gray, 7. Will Miller, 8. Stephen Hoiles, 9. Brendan McKibbin, 10. Sam Windsor, 11. Andrew Kellaway, 12. Apukuki Maufu, 13. Samu Wara, 14. Joel Brooks, 15. Darcy Etrich. Reserves 16. Michael Alaalatoa, 17. Ben Suisala, 18. Will Weeks, 19. Cam Treloar, 20. Mick Snowden, 21. Pauli Tuala, 22. Eli Sinoti, 23. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak

Perth Spirit: 1. Joe Savage (Palmyra), 2. Robbie Abel (Cottesloe), 3. Chris Heiberg (Perth Bayswater), 4. Corey Thomas (UWA), 5. Brent Murphy (Perth Bayswater), 6. Richard Hardwick (UWA), 7. Kane Koteka (Wests Scarborough), 8. Alex Rovira (Associates), 9. Justin Turner (Associates), 10. Zack Holmes (Associates), 11. Koiatu Koiatu (Wanneroo), 12. Luke Burton (UWA), 13. Ammon Matuauto (Associates), 14. Va’a Mailei (Palmyra), 15. Christian Joubert (UWA) Reserves 16. Harry Scoble (UWA), 17. Oliver Hoskins (Cottesloe), 18. Kaisa Reidy (Cottesloe), 19. Kieran Stringer (Cottesloe), 20. Cian O’Connor (UWA), 21. Michael Ruru (Nedlands), 22. Davis Tavita (Nedlands) 23. Nili Fielea (Cottesloe)

Referee: Andrew Lees

Related Posts

« »