Buildcorp Wallaroos ready for New Zealand challenge

Jun 12 • General News, International • 1397 Views • Comments Off on Buildcorp Wallaroos ready for New Zealand challenge

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

. Hana Ngaha, Queensland, 2 Tests
2. Cheyenne Campbell, Queensland, 10 Tests
3. Caroline Fairs, Queensland, ADF, 8 Tests
4. Millie Boyle, ACT, 1 Test
5. Alexandra Sulusi, Sydney, 2 Tests
6. Chloe Butler, South Australia Barbarians, 6 Tests
7.  Vesinia Schaaf-Taufa, Western Australia, 2 Tests
8. Victoria Latu, Sydney, 1 Test
9. Katrina Barker, NSW Country, 3 Tests
10. Fenella Hake, Queensland, 1 Test
11. Samantha Treherne, Queensland, 1 Test
12. Kayla Sauvao, Sydney, 1 Test
13. Sharni Williams, Australian Women’s Sevens, 13 Tests
14. Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sydney, wing, 14 Tests
15. Ashleigh Hewson, Sydney, fullback, 13 Tests (captain)

16. Liz Patu, Queensland, 10 Tests
17. Violeta Tupuola, ACT, 1 Test
18. Hilisha Samoa, Queensland, 1 Test
19. Alisha Hewett, Queensland, ADF, 10 Tests
20. Kiri Lingman, Queensland, flanker, 1 Test
21. Ashleigh Timoko, Western Australia, 1 Test
22. Sarah Riordan, NSW, ADF, 2 Tests
23. Nareta Marsters, Queensland, 2 Tests

Buildcorp Wallaroos ready for New Zealand challenge

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Paul Verrell has named a new-look side ahead of the team’s second Test of the International Women’s Rugby Series on Tuesday 12 June at 12:45 pm AEST, where they will face New Zealand’s Black Ferns at Christchurch’s Rugby Park.

A total of eight changes has been made to the starting XV that ran out against England in Wellington.

After joining the squad in camp ahead of the England game, Australian Women’s Sevens captain and Olympic Gold Medalist Sharni Williams has been named at outside center, earning her first Wallaroos Test cap in over three years.

Head coach Paul Verrell said: “Having someone like Sharni Williams in the squad for this Test is great, she brings a lot of experience to the side and she’ll link with one of our younger players in Kayla (Sauvao) in the centers who will learn a lot from the opportunity.”

In the front row, props Hana Ngaha and Caroline Fairs have been named to start at Loosehead and tight-head respectively, packing down with Cheyenne Campbell to form an all Queensland front row. The match will be Fairs’ first Test since the 2014 World Cup, after suffering a near career-ending neck injury in training.

ACT lock Millie Boyle has been promoted to the starting side, after making her debut off the bench against England. Alexandra Sulusi has also been named in the starting XV and will earn her first cap off the tour.

In the back row, Western Australia flanker Vesinia Schaaf-Taufa has been named at openside-flanker, with Chloe Butler moving to the blindside while Victoria Latu remains at Number 8.

NSW Country scrumhalf Katrina Barker will start at scrumhalf, with Cobie Jane-Morgan moving to the wing.

Fenella Hake and Kayla Sauvao will both remain at flyhalf and inside center respectively, while Sunnybank’s Samantha Trehearne has been promoted to start on the wing after making her debut in Wellington.

On the bench, Liz Patu, Hilisha Samoa, and Violeta Tupuola will provide front row cover, Alisha Hewett, and Kiri Lingman will provide cover for the locks and back-row respectively, while Ashleigh Timoko, Sarah Riordan, and Nareta Marsters have been named as back reserves.

“We’ve named a side for this Test with no new debutants, everyone is capped,” said Verrell.

“We’ve made a number of changes to the side, introducing fresh players into the squad with the short turnaround ahead of the New Zealand Test. We’re also trying to give everyone an opportunity, but we believe the side we’ve named is up to the challenge.

“New Zealand is arguably the form side in Women’s XV Rugby at the moment and the chance to face them ahead of the World Cup later this year will be a great benefit for our side as we continue our preparation.”

The match between Australia and New Zealand will be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS 503.

Remaining 2017 International Women’s Rugby Series Fixtures:
12.45pm, Tuesday, June 13 – Australia vs New Zealand, Rugby Park, Christchurch
10.30am, Saturday, June 17 – Australia vs Canada, Smallbone Park, Rotorua

Related Posts

« »