Canterbury and Wellington win Farah Palmer Cup titles

Oct 20 • General News, International • 1516 Views • Comments Off on Canterbury and Wellington win Farah Palmer Cup titles

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Premiership: Canterbury 52 – Counties Manukau Heat 29
Championship: Wellington Pride 57 – Otago Spirit 5


The Farah Palmer Cup has come to a close today with Canterbury and Wellington claiming the silverware.

In Christchurch, Canterbury went back-to-back in dominant fashion with a 52-29 victory over Counties Manukau to win the Premiership.

Kendra Cocksedge and Sam Curtis both crossed for first half doubles, giving the defending champions a strong 35-10 lead at the break.

Counties Manukau crossed for two late tries courtesy of 16-year-old Anastasia Mamea but it was not enough to reign in the Canterbury team who secured the 52-29 victory.

Halfback Kendra Cocksedge scored a persoanl haul of 27 points, kicking eight from eight to add to her two tries.

In the Championship Final, Wellington were similarly dominant with a 57-5 win over Otago to claim the title and promotion into the Premiership for 2019.

Otago opened the scoring and absorbed a lot of early pressure, but Wellington were classy, with fullback Timena Tuma’ai scoring a finals hat trick while Monica Tagoai also crossed for two tries.

New Zealand Rugby CEO Steve Tew congratulated the four teams involved in today’s final.

“The Farah Palmer Cup is a competition that continues to grow and impress, we have seen some great talent uncovered this season in a hard-fought competition.

“Congratulations to Canterbury for claiming back-to-back Premiership titles, they’ve played an exciting brand of rugby this season which was on display in their strong performance this afternoon.

“Wellington will be pleased to be returning to the Premiership after claiming the Championship title this afternoon and I congratulate them for what has been an impressive season”.

Related Posts

« »