Cell C Sharks Looking for another Passionate effort against Zebre

Mar 17 • General News, International, National, South Africa, South Africa, United Rugby Championship • 591 Views • Comments Off on Cell C Sharks Looking for another Passionate effort against Zebre

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks will be looking to take their rousing Vodacom United Rugby Championship performance of last week and turn it into another passionate effort when they host Zebre at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Saturday.

The Cell C Sharks’ 37-20 victory over the Scarlets last weekend ensured that the Durbanites finished the weekend’s round of fixtures in sixth position on the log and this weekend offers them the opportunity of further entrenchment in the top half of the table as well as the South African Shield.

Although the Italians are still searching for their first win in the URC, head coach Sean Everitt warns that to underestimate them would be at their own peril.

“Like any international competition, no team can be taken lightly. In this competition, no-one can be taken lightly, we saw that when the Scarlets put 35 points over Glasgow who are in the top three of the competition.

“Zebre are an unpredictable side that kick the ball really well, and although they haven’t done that well on the log, they gave the Vodacom Bulls a good go for the first 40 minutes before the Bulls’ power game dominated them.

“But our focus is on our own performance at the moment, taking it week by week and we know that we need to get better and put in a better performance as a whole for 80 minutes.”

Everitt has made just the one change to the highly performing pack, giving Ntuthuko Mchunu a start after the loss of Ox Nche to injury, with two further changes amongst the backs, handing Grant Williams the scrumhalf jersey and Ben Tapuai coming in for Jeremy Ward at outside centre.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  2. Bongi Mbonambi
  3. Thomas du Toit (v/c)
  4. Gerbrandt Grobler
  5. Reniel Hugo
  6. Siya Kolisi (c)
  7. Henco Venter
  8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  9. Grant Williams
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Ben Tapuai
  14. Werner Kok
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Khwezi Mona
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Le Roux Roets
  5. Phepsi Buthelezi
  6. Jaden Hendrikse
  7. Boeta Chamberlain
  8. Jeremy Ward

Related Posts

« »